Christmas Spritz Cookies

Christmastime is here! I’ve been making several cookies this holiday season with my daughter, Holly, but none look as impressive as Spritz Cookies. Spritz cookies are little bites of perfection.

I’ll be honest, my first batch of these little guys was laughable. I decided to attempt a gluten-free (GF) and dairy-free (DF) spritz cookie for David, my husband. I used Food Network’s recipe for spritz cookies, but used my go-to GF all-purpose flour by Bob’s Red Mill, and a combination of Fleischmann’s brand DF stick butter and Blue Bonnet Lactose Free stick butter (I didn’t have enough Fleischmann’s). Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. These substitutions for regular flour and butter usually work like a charm. Not so much in these cookies.

I mixed up my dough, divided into 3 parts so I could color some of the dough green, red, and I left the remaining third plain white. Next, I put it into my cookie press, pressed my cookies onto my cookie sheet and sprinkled little sugar crystals on them, and baked them according to the recipe. Within one minute, they were puddles of molten goo. They came out of the oven with a spongy cake-like texture, and I must say they tasted pretty good! But the look of them…. Only a picture can do it justice. GF Spritz Fail

This war was not over. I absolutely had to give it another go. I hit Pinterest for more recipes, and finally wound up on YouTube. I wanted to see what the consistency of the cookie dough was supposed to look like for a successful spritz cookie. I found a video by Crouton Crackerjacks and followed their recipe. I decided to wave the white flag and opt out of GF and DF ingredients.

I mixed my dough, omitted the almond extract and used only vanilla extract. My dough was still coming out really wet and sticky, so I added more flour. A lot more flour. I was afraid that my dough was going to taste of nothing but raw flour, so I added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and prayed. Considering how sticky the cookie dough was, even after the flour addition, I didn’t use any food coloring this time.

I put my dough in my cookie press, pressed it out on my cookie sheet, and baked my cookies with my fingers crossed. 9 minutes later, I was so proud of myself. My cookies were PERFECT! They held their shape and they absolutely did not taste like raw flour! They were slightly sweet, buttery, and delightful.Spritz Cookies Success

One thing I learned from my experience is that cookie presses are super fun to use, but also kind of a pain in the backside. There were a few times when I didn’t think I had the strength to take off the ends of the cookie press gun to put more cookie dough in there or to change the shape plate (the piece at the end that gives your cookie its shape). Another thing I learned is if your cookie sheet is warm or greasy, your cookie dough is not going to adhere to it as you press it from the cookie press.

Okay, I’ve made you wait long enough. Here’s the recipe I used to make a successful batch of Christmas Spritz Cookies from Crouton Crackerjacks, but altered slightly.

Christmas Spritz Cookies

  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2 tsp milk
  • 2 3/4 tsp vanilla extract (or 2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp almond)
  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour (plus extra if your dough is still sticky)
  • 1/4 tsp saltCream together butter and sugar in a large bowl until creamy. Add in wet ingredients and mix well. Add in flour and salt and mix to combine. Color the dough if you wish to do so or leave it plain. **DO NOT REFRIGERATE DOUGH** Put into a cookie press and press out onto an ungreased, room temp cookie sheet. Decorate if desired with colored sugar, nonpareils, sprinkles, etc. Bake in a preheated 350º F oven for 9-11 minutes or until done but not browned. Let cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet and then remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Let cookie sheet cool before pressing out more cookies. If using a new press, makes 7-8 dozen cookies. If using an old press, makes 3-4 dozen cookies. Store in an airtight container. See Video by Crouton Crackerjacks



I hope you all will try these delicious, buttery little cookies. I’ve also seen some recipes for lemon spritz cookies, but that’s another post for another day.

Happy cooking,

Laura

Leave a Reply

