Ina Garten’s Coconut Macaroons

Coconut mixed with sweetened condensed milk… What could be bad about that? Nothing, absolutely nothing. These chewy pillows of sweet coconut are the perfect Gluten-free (GF) 2-bite treat!

You’ll have to excuse the photo. I didn’t know I’d be blogging about these tasty morsels when I made them last weekend. I had just visited my grandparents the day before so I could bring them some of my Christmas Spritz Cookies (seen in my previous post). My grandmother mentioned that her all-time favorite treat was a coconut macaroon. I thought to myself “I’ve never made those before. I wonder if they’re easy..” So, as I do with every culinary intrigue, I went to Pinterest, and to Ina Garten for advice and recipes. I landed on Ina Garten’s recipe and stuck with it. I happen to adore Ina Garten and, therefore, trust her recipes completely. I knew these would be fantastic, and I was right!

Coconut macaroons are as tasty as they are easy to make. 5 ingredients, you guys.

Coconut Macaroons:

  • 2 large egg whites
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 14 ounces sweetened shredded coconut
  • 14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 325ΒΊ F. Place the egg whites and pinch of salt in a stand mixer and beat until stiff peaks form. In a separate bowl, combine coconut, sweetened condensed milk, and vanilla. Gently fold the egg whites into the coconut mixture until it’s just combined (don’t over mix because you don’t want to deflate your egg whites). Use a cookie or ice cream scoop to scoop your macaroons, and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until golden brown. Cool and serve.  Ina Garten’s Coconut Macaroons


 

My advice about these little beauties is to make sure you bake them on parchment paper – they are sticky! And if you don’t have a cookie scoop, you can use 2 spoons to drop them on the baking sheet.

I took part this batch of macaroons to my family’s Christmas party and they were a hit! My brother even asked me to leave some with him to enjoy later on. The rest of my macaroons made their way to my grandmother, which totally made her day! I’ve mentioned in previous posts about my husband, David’s, dairy and gluten sensitivities and sadly this sweet treat was not one he could eat. It is GF, but it has that sweetened condensed milk in it, so I’m sorry to say that he will never know the delight of these little coconut pillows. More for grandma, I guess!

I hope you decide to give these a try. You won’t be disappointed!

Happy cooking,

Laura

Leave a Reply

