Honey Maple Roasted Carrots with Pomegranate

The Christmas season sends me into my peak of volunteering to prepare and bring dishes to gatherings. When my mother-in-law asked me to bring a vegetable dish to one of our Christmas gatherings, I decided I didn’t want to make a simple salad or steamed vegetable. Christmastime is special, and requires special food!

As I do with everything I decide to make, I perused Pinterest for ideas and eventually was inspired by the humble carrot. Carrots are something I hated as a child. I mean, I really hated them. Unless they were camouflaged by the other flavors in my chicken noodle soup, they were not to be seen or tasted.

Well, I have grown to like all forms of cooked carrots, especially when they’re treated with a sweet sticky glaze. These particular roasted carrots looked so gorgeous, adorned with little jewels that are pomegranate arils (or seeds).

I served them at our Christmas party and they were gobbled up! My 3-year-old daughter, Holly, loved them more than the adults did.

Honey Maple Roasted Carrots with Pomegranate

  • 2 pounds carrots, peeled and sliced on a long angle into pieces approximately 3 inches long
  • 2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoon honey
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 tablespoon thinly sliced fresh chives
  • ½ cup pomegranate arils or seeds

Preheat oven to 450˚F. Lightly oil a sheet pan.

Place carrots on prepared pan and drizzle with olive oil, maple syrup and honey. Sprinkle with coriander, sea salt and pepper. Toss to coat (I like to use my hands for this to get them well coated, but a spatula will work too). Spread carrots out on pan in a single layer.

Roast for 10 minutes, then stir to redistribute. Return to oven and roast for another 15-20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes. Carrots are finished when they are tender and some of the edges are caramelized.

Sprinkle sesame seeds and herbs over carrots and stir. Taste and season with a bit more sea salt and pepper, if needed.Transfer to a serving bowl and scatter with the pomegranate arils. Serve hot.  Recipe Credit to Pinterest Link


 

This recipe easily made enough for the 6 adults and 1 child that were at our gathering.

Happy cooking,

Laura

 

 

Leave a Reply

