I Started a Blog

Hello future readers. My name is Laura. I am a stay-at-home wife and mother with a passion for cooking. After 5 years of marriage and 3 years of motherhood, I have realized just how passionate I am about cooking, and especially eating!

My dear husband, David, realized 4 years ago that dairy was no longer a food group he could consume. A small part of me died that day. How could I possibly learn how to cook without the use of milk, butter, CHEESE???

For a long time, I made nothing but baked chicken legs that had been coated in Lawry’s Seasoned Salt with rice and frozen green beans. Go big or go home, right? I was at a loss. This Southern girl was expected to cook dinner without my beloved dairy, and this boring dinner was all I could come up with.

I have watched Food Network since high school, learning culinary terms and techniques by way of Alton Brown, Ina Garten, and Rachel Ray, to name a few chefs. Eventually, I got gutsy enough to attempt a recipe by Rachel Ray – it was cabbage soup. With no disrespect to Rachel Ray or her recipe, my soup was terrible! I blame myself and my lack of know-how, I think. After that, I backed off trying to do “fancy” recipes and humbled myself. I returned to my mom’s old collection of recipes, making things like spaghetti. As tasty as that is, I wanted to get better at the one thing I was interested in doing.

Finally, there was Pinterest. My saving grace. My hub for all of the recipes I had only ever dreamed of. All hail Pinterest and all of its dairy-free filters. With the help of my own personal culinary school, also known as Food Network, I was able to pick and choose from Pinterest the recipes I felt I would be able to prepare successfully. At last, I was the cook I wanted to be for my husband.

Just when I thought all was right in my kitchen, David tells me that he can no longer consume Gluten. Isn’t that in just about everything?? Yes. Yes it is. So I dealt with this new culinary curve ball the only way I knew how: Pinterest. I began learning all that I could about flour alternatives and hacks for making things we all take for granted, like Cream Of Chicken Soup. That’s right, I make gluten-free (GF) and dairy-free (DF) cream of chicken soup.

This, folks, is largely why I have decided to start blogging. It is my job as a stay-at-home wife and mother to make tasty food for my food-sensitive husband, my 3-year-old daughter, and me! Of course, I do still include cheese in the food I serve my daughter (and my food, of course) and I make loads of delicious cookies and sweet treats using real butter and regular all-purpose flour because David doesn’t care for cookies or most sweets (I know, I don’t understand it either).

So this blog isn’t entirely about GF/DF foods. It’s just about recipes that I have tried and approve for my family.

I hope you all like it! Check back regularly and please feel free to leave comments with questions!

Happy Cooking,

Laura

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Linda VR says:

    Hi Laura. My 7-yr old daughter was diagnosed with celiac disease 8 months ago, and as a result she’s also lactose intolerant. My 6-yr old son was diagnosed with lactose intolerance 2 months ago. I completely understand what you’re going through! We were big bread and pasta eaters and the only thing other than water that my daughter drinks is milk. I’ve learned to substitute reg milk with lactose free milk and regular flour with Cup4Cup gluten free flour. If you haven’t tried it I recommend you do. Just substitute regular flour with Cup4Cup in the recipe. No otger changes needed. Truly, no difference in consistency, flavor or anything for that matter. You can only find it online or at William Sonoma. Let me know what you think if you ever try it.
    As for butter, like you I’ve tried substituting and failed. I now use Smart Balance (Original) is both GF and DF and has the same taste as butter.

    Happy holidays!

    Like

    1. mrsdjmj says:

      Hi Linda, thank you for your comment!
      My husband and I have had much luck with Fleischmann’s dairy-free butter. I find that it works in recipes and tastes just like regular butter, however it is a little more expensive. I also just found that Blue Bonnet makes a lactose free butter, and it was on sale for $0.99 at Kroger last week. I plan to use it soon, when my Fleischmann’s runs out. This is only for stick butter. When I want a butter spread from a tub, I use Smart Balance Original (in the green tub) and it really does taste just like butter!

      As for Cup4Cup Gluten-Free Flour, I worked with it once before realizing that it contains milk, so we can’t use it. I have been using Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour. In most of the recipes I’ve done, it has worked flawlessly. But with my spritz cookies, it did not work.
      Thanks for reading! Follow me and keep checking in! I hope to hear from you again!
      Merry Christmas!
      Laura

      Like

Leave a Reply

