Mushroom Turkey Barley Soup

I love soup in the Wintertime. To me, there is nothing more comforting than a nice, hot bowl of soup when I’m cold. Normally, I make soups that my whole family can enjoy — including my gluten-free/ dairy-free (GF/DF) husband. This time, however, I made a soup just for me and my daughter.

Mushroom Turkey Barley Soup is super healthy, which makes me happy, and it is really tasty, which makes my daughter happy. Sadly for my husband, it contains gluten (barley). You could absolutely substitute the barley for GF pasta or rice, but this time I really wanted the barley. I had it in the pantry, just sitting there being neglected by our GF family. Every time I look in the pantry, I see the bag of Pearled Barley staring me in the face, taunting me. I caved. Sorry, dear husband and all of the GF followers, Mama wanted barley (please do keep in mind that you can substitute the barley with any GF alternative).

This recipe has everything I want in a soup. I love the meaty mushrooms, hearty turkey, healthy spinach, the texture of the barley, and the lightness of the lemon juice. It’s fantastic!

This soup is super easy to put together. Just sautee your onion, then add garlic and spices, and finally the mushrooms, barley (or GF alternative) and vegetable stock. The vegetable stock I used this time is much darker than others I have used in the past, but it is every bit as delicious. Simmer this for 30 minutes so the barley can cook and get tender (see before and after picture below).

Barley Soup Mushrooms

Next, you’ll cook the ground turkey in a skillet, then add it to your soup. This will need to simmer for 30 more minutes. Finally, you will add fresh spinach and lemon juice to the soup. That’s it! Super easy, right?

Barley Soup Turkey

Here’s the recipe: 

Mushroom Turkey Barley Soup

  • 4 teaspoons olive oil, divided into 2 teaspoons + 2 teaspoons
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
  • 8 ounces Crimini mushrooms, quartered
  • 8 cups vegetable stock
  • 1/2 cup pearled barley (or GF alternative like Rice)
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Heat 2 teaspoons oil in  heavy dutch-oven type pan.  Add the chopped onions and saute over high heat until the onions are softened and starting to brown, about 5 minutes.  Turn heat to medium, add garlic, thyme, poultry seasoning, and saute 1-2 minutes more.

While the onions cook, wash and chop the mushrooms. When onion mixture is sauteed, add the chopped mushrooms, vegetable stock, and barley, turn the heat to medium low, and and let the mixture simmer about 30 minutes or until the barley is starting to get tender.

When barley is nearly tender, heat the other 2 teaspoons oil in a large heavy frying pan and cook the ground turkey over medium-high heat until it’s nicely browned, breaking it apart as it cooks.  Season to taste with salt and fresh ground black pepper.  Add the meat to the soup pot and continue to cook 20-30 minutes more, until the barley is done.  (You may need to add a cup or two of water.)

Wash and chop the spinach.  When the barley is tender, add the spinach and cook until it’s wilted, about 10 minutes.  Stir in the fresh lemon juice and serve soup hot, with freshly grated Parmesan cheese to add at the table if desired. Recipe Credit


I hope you all enjoy this recipe as it warms you up this Winter!
Happy cooking,
Laura
One Comment Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    This soup was so delish….I am going to make it soon! Thanks for sharing it with me, it was a perfect lunch!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

