Chicken with Sweet Potatoes + Grape Tomatoes

Easy dishes — these are crucial to keep on hand for last-minute dinners or times when the cook of the family is unable to fulfill his or her duties. It is an absolute rarity that I can’t prepare dinner for my family. When these times do arise, I go to the easiest recipes I know so that my husband has the easiest time possible while in the kitchen.

I broke my wrist several months ago and was unable to cook for weeks. It was pure torture being out of my kitchen! That being said, I had to rely on my sweet husband to make all of our meals. Not that he’s a bad cook, because he definitely isn’t, but it’s just not his passion. This meal was easy enough for him to execute perfectly. Of course, I was looking over his shoulder the whole time, driving him insane, but I couldn’t resist being in my kitchen! He took my back-seat-cooking in stride and managed to prepare this dish without a hitch.

I found this recipe on Pinterest. There is something absolutely amazing about the combination of flavors. The chicken is hearty, the sweet potatoes are sweet (obviously) and creamy, and the tomatoes add a lovely acidity to elevate the dish. Plus, it’s really healthy. My daughter loves, and I mean LOVES, tomatoes. This dinner is a home run with her. Plus, it has no dairy or gluten, so my gluten-free/ dairy-free husband can enjoy it too!

Everything in this dish is covered in garlic and Italian seasoning, which makes everything even more flavorful than they would otherwise be. If you’re no into garlic so much, definitely try only 2 cloves of garlic rather than 4.

Let me tell you how MY HUSBAND did it:

Chicken with Sweet Potatoes + Grape Tomatoes

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, washed and cut into wedges
  • 1 pint assorted grape tomatoes
  • 4 large cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons Italian seasoning
  • black pepper
  • sea salt
  • olive oil

Preheat your oven to 425º F.

In a large zip-top bag, add potato wedges, a drizzle of olive oil, and half of your spices – 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/2 teaspoons salt, 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning, and 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper. Seal and shake ingredients until fully coated. Empty onto a baking sheet and bake for 10-15 mins or until edges begin to turn slightly brown.

In the same large zip-top bag, add chicken breasts, a drizzle of olive oil, and the other half of your spices – 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/2 teaspoons salt, 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning, and 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper. Seal and shake ingredients until fully coated.

Then in a large skillet over medium-high heat, add a drizzle of olive oil and brown chicken on both sides. Once the chicken is browned on both sides, your sweet potatoes should be ready. Remove them from the oven and add them to the outer edges of the skillet, along with your tomatoes. Cook uncovered (shaking the pan every so often often to prevent sticking) for another 7-10 mins or until chicken is cooked through. This  dish will serve 2 and can easily be doubled or tripled to suit your needs. Recipe Credit


 

Healthy, warming, and EASY — My husband and I couldn’t ask for more!

Happy cooking,

Laura

Leave a Reply

