GF Greek Chicken Pasta Salad

I’ve been on a Greek food kick since last summer and this salad encompasses all of my favorite Greek flavors. This meal is a combination of a few different recipes that I put together for a salad that will knock your socks off.  Because it has the meat and vegetables all in one dish, it’s an ideal dish to bring to a potluck or a picnic. It’s also one of those super easy meals that the non-cook of the family should be able to throw together.

I adore this salad because of how flavorful it is. It’s a light dish that leaves your palate and your hunger satisfied. The lemon and red wine vinaigrette are bright and acidic, the chicken is moist and full of protein, the gluten-free pasta helps it “stick to your ribs” and it makes it edible for my GF/DF (gluten-free/dairy-free) husband. The vegetables make the salad burst with flavor. And for me and my daughter, because we can have dairy, I add feta cheese to our portions.

I start out getting my pasta boiling. Next, I season my chicken breasts with Lawry’s Lawry's Mediterranean Herb Seasoned SaltMediterranean Herb Seasoned Salt, although regular seasoned salt will work just fine, and then I saute the chicken in a skillet. You could also grill your chicken if you like. When the chicken is cooked perfectly, let it rest just for a minute and then cut it into bite-size pieces.

Next, I work on my salad fixin’s. Chop, slice, and dice all of your cucumber, grape tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, and red onion.

Finally, I mix up all of my vinaigrette ingredients in a liquid measuring cup.

Grab a large bowl and put your chicken and salad toppings, plus capers (and feta cheese if you can have dairy), plus the pasta when it’s finished. Pour the vinaigrette all over the salad and give it a toss. It’s done!

Greek Pasta Salad Close up

Greek Chicken Pasta Salad

  • 2-3 chicken breasts, sauteed and cut into bite-size pieces
  • Lawry’s Mediterranean Herb Seasoned Salt
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and seeded, diced
  • 6 sun-dried tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons capers
  • 1/4 cup pitted Kalamata Olives, sliced
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
  • Feta cheese (if you can have it)
  • 1 box Gluten Free pasta

Cook pasta to box instructions. Season chicken breasts completely, either in a skillet or on a grill, and then cut into bite-size pieces. Next, prepare the rest of the salad ingredients and the vinaigrette. Combine salad and vinaigrette with pasta.

 

Greek Vinaigrette

  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a liquid measuring cup. Pour over salad when ready.


 

Happy cooking,

Laura

One Comment Add yours

  1. Elyse says:

    Yum– This looks wonderful!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

