Dairy-Free Garlic Mashed Potatoes

I have mentioned my Garlic Mashed Potatoes in different posts as a side dish, but I wanted to give them the spotlight as a tribute to how amazing they are.

Dairy-free is a must in this house for my husband, David, so for this recipe I use Coconut Milk and Smart Balance Dairy-Free Butter. And to make them garlic, I simply boil 3 russet potatoes that have been peeled and diced with 1 large (or 2 small) peeled and smashed garlic cloves in the same pot of salted water! The potatoes will soak up the salty and garlic flavor from the water.

Once the potatoes are fork-tender (when you can pierce them with a fork and have them fall back off easily), I drain the water out but I keep the garlic in and mash it up with the potatoes.

Then I add about 2 tablespoons of dairy-free (DF) butter and some DF milk (coconut milk is my preference) – just enough to get the consistency right – and then salt and pepper to taste. That’s it!

Dairy-Free Garlic Mashed Potatoes

  • 3 russet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 large garlic clove, peeled and smashed
  • 2 tablespoons dairy-free butter
  • splash of dairy-free milk (I like coconut milk)
  • salt and pepper

Peel and dice the potatoes and put them in a pot with your peeled and smashed garlic, and cover with water. Add a good bit of salt to the water so potatoes can start getting some great flavor. Once they’re fork-tender, drain the water out and smash the potatoes and garlic. Add the DF butter and DF milk, plus salt and pepper to taste.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    I need to make them like this more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

