Tyler Florence’s Pan-Seared Tuna with Avocado, Soy, Ginger, and Lime

I’ve got to give a shout-out to my Dad (Hi, Daddy!) for giving me a bunch of fresh Bluefin and Yellowfin Tuna that I otherwise would never have bought. One of his customers went fishing off the coast of California and brought back loads of fresh tuna, and he was nice enough to give some to my dad. My dear, sweet Dad gave me some and I immediately had to figure out what to do with it!

I knew I wanted to sear it. After having it completely raw in sushi, seared tuna is my 2nd favorite preparation. I was interested in using Asian flavors after seeing Ina Garten make a tuna tartare with soy sauce, sesame seeds, and avocado. Tyler Florence’s Pan-Seared Tuna with Avocado, Soy, Ginger, and Lime recipe hit both the preparation and flavor profiles I wanted and it is super easy, and incredibly healthy!

This recipe call for jalapeno, but since my husband and I aren’t too big on spice, I left it out. The flavor of everything else was very good, but it is highly acidic. Perhaps I should have added a little bit more sugar, or held back on some of that lime juice. Also, I think I was a bit heavy-handed with the salt, even though there was salty soy sauce in the sauce mixture, so it was a little over powering. There are some changes I’ll definitely be making next time I make this, but for you, I merely caution you to taste your sauce as your making it to know how much lime, soy sauce, and sugar to add for your palate.

Tyler Florence’s Pan-Seared Tuna with Avocado, Soy, Ginger, and Lime

  • 2 big handfuls fresh cilantro leaves, finely chopped
  • 1/2 jalapeno, sliced (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, peeled and grated
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and grated
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce (Kikkomann makes Gluten-free)
  • pinch of sugar
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 (6-ounce) block sushi-quality tuna
  • 1 ripe avocado, halved, peeled, pitted, and sliced

In a mixing bowl, combine the cilantro, jalapeno, ginger, garlic, lime juice, soy sauce, sugar, salt, pepper, and 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Stir the ingredients together until well incorporated.

Place a skillet over medium-high heat and coat with the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Season the tuna generously with salt and pepper. Lay the tuna in the hot oil and sear for 1 minute on each side to form a slight crust. Pour 1/2 of the cilantro mixture into the pan to coat the fish. Serve the seared tuna with the sliced avocado and the remaining cilantro sauce drizzled over the whole plate. Recipe Credit


Happy cooking,

Laura

Leave a Reply

