GF Goulash

Comforting favorites – is there anything better? And how often is someone’s favorite food something their mom made throughout their childhood?

One of my husband’s favorite dinners is his Mom’s Goulash. He’s loved it since he was a kid, and now our daughter loves it too. I love having this recipe from David’s mom (Hi, Ma!) so I can make David’s favorite comfort dishes from his childhood when he needs it, or when I need comforting for that matter. It’s just one of those humble, non-fancy, no-fuss, real life meals.

Goulash is so simple and so satisfying, and did I mention that it’s super cheap and quick to make? The sauce cooks in the time it takes the pasta to cook, so it’s all done in a matter of 15 minutes!

Ma’s recipe calls for 1 can of stewed tomatoes, but I find myself hunting for them, so I’d recommend using 2 cans. And don’t even think about draining them. The liquid from the stewed tomatoes will give your sauce more flavor as well as a good consistency.
Do, however, drain your mushrooms.

Here’s how it’s done:

Gluten-Free Goulash

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 can tomato soup
  • 1-2 cans stewed tomatoes and juices
  • 1 can mushrooms, drained
  • 8 ounces Gluten Free pasta

Cook the pasta according to package ingredients.

While the pasta is cooking, brown the beef. Once the beef is nicely browned, stir in the tomato soup and the stewed tomatoes and their juices, and the mushrooms. When the pasta is done, drain it and add it to the sauce, stir it and you’re done!


Happy cooking,

Laura

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. pinkiebag says:

    A great alternative to spaghetti fishes. I must give it a try. Thanks for sharing.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    Like

  2. brendamj says:

    Hi, It really is such a simple recipe, but tastes great! My mom made it this way and I just followed suit. I need to make it soon myself! Big grin!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

