Split Pea Soup with Ham Hocks and GF Corn Bread

While looking on Pinterest recently, I came across a post for Split Pea Soup, and I realized I’ve never had Split Pea Soup before! Considering the frigid temperatures outside, I figured now would be the ideal time to give this soup a try.

There were a few different recipes that I chose from. One was Ina Garten’s Split Pea Soup, which is a very basic recipe with carrots, onion, potatoes, and split peas (duh!). The next was Alton Brown’s Curried Split Pea Soup. I ran this idea past my husband, David, but considering we have never had this soup before, we wanted to experience it without any strong spices. So finally, I found the recipe with Ham Hocks from the Dave Lieberman. I know how feels about pork (very, very pro-pork), so this seemed like a no-brainer.

But what’s a ham hock?Β  A ham hock (or pork knuckle) is the joint between the tibia/fibula and the metatarsals of the foot, where the foot was attached to the hog’s leg (imagine if the pig had shins). There’s not a ton of meat on these bad boys, but there’s a ton of flavor!

I love this recipe for it’s simplicity and it’s straight-up yumminess. It’s also very easy on the wallet.

Split Pea Soup Ingredients

And with the soup, I decided that some Gluten Free (GF) Corn Bread would be perfect. Kroger sells a really great mix. The corn bread comes out slightly sweet, which is how I love corn bread. I like to make it in my cast iron skillet just to make it look a little more special. Just follow the box instructions, but you will need egg, Dairy Free (DF) milk, and oil. I say “DF milk” because my husband is dairy-free as well as gluten-free, so I use coconut milk when making this cornbread.

Back to the soup…. You’ll need to dice and saute 2 carrots, 2 celery stalks, and 1 large onion.

Split Pea Soup Saute

Next, add the ham hocks and 1 pound of split peas (that have been rinsed and picked through).

Split Pea Soup Ham Hocks

Then add 2 quarts of chicken broth, enough to cover the ingredients by an inch or so. I like to use low sodium chicken broth so I can control the amount of sodium that goes into my food.

Split Pea Soup Simmer

Bring this to a simmer and let it cook for an hour, until the split peas are broken down and almost completely dissolved. I love how the broken down peas thicken the soup! When the soup is ready, take the ham hocks out and carefully cut the meat off of the bone and add the meat back to the soup with some salt and pepper, too. Now, dinner is ready! Serve the soup with GF Corn Bread or any side you like.

Split Pea Soup Done

Split Pea Soup with Ham Hocks

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 large onion, finely diced
  • 2 celery stalks, finely diced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and finely diced
  • 1 pound bag split peas, rinsed and picked through
  • 1 1/2 pound smoked ham hocks
  • 2 quarts low sodium chicken stock, water, or combination
  • salt and pepper

In a large saucepan, saute onion, celery and carrots over medium-high heat. Add peas and ham hock and cover with stock by a couple inches. Bring to a simmer and cook about 1 hour until soup is thick and peas have almost disintegrated but not quite. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper. Remove ham hock and let cool. Pull meat from ham hock bone and shred. Garnish with ham and pepper.Β Recipe Credit


I’ll definitely be making this again soon, but next time I think I’ll take a page out of Ina Garten’s recipe and add a couple of red potatoes to the soup!

Happy cooking,

Laura

 

Leave a Reply

