Strawberry Banana Smoothie

Disclaimer: This recipe contains Dairy. This is one of those posts I mentioned on my About page – recipes that my daughter, Holly, and I eat when my GF/DF husband isn’t around. He’s off to work, so he doesn’t have to watch us indulge in the things he can’t have.

I noticed this morning that I had a couple of brown bananas that needed to be eaten quickly, so I decided to make a smoothie for breakfast. It’s super healthy, but it tastes so naughty! The smoothie has sweet frozen strawberries, a ripe banana, honey, old-fashioned oats that help keep you feeling full, Greek vanilla yogurt that’s packed full of protein, coconut milk and ice.

smoothie ingredients top

I haven’t found the perfect Dairy-free hack for DF Greek Yogurt. If any of you have one, please leave it in the comments!!! I’d love to learn it!

This recipe makes 2 servings that are sweet, fresh, and filling! You can store any leftovers in a drinking glass in the refrigerator. I put plastic wrap over my glass, just in case.

Ok, grab your blender and I’ll tell you how to whip this smoothie up.

In your blender, combine 1/2 cup of ice, 1/2 cup frozen strawberries, 1 banana, 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats (not quick oats), 1 tablespoon honey, 1/2 cup Greek vanilla yogurt and a splash of milk (I use coconut milk).

smothie before blending

Now blend until smooth. Enjoy!!!

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 Greek vanilla yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • splash of coconut milk
  • 1 cup of ice

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth and enjoy!


 

This smoothie is sure to keep you full and satisfied!

Happy cooking,

Laura

Leave a Reply

