GF Pollock Fish Tacos

I was at the supermarket the other day and saw some fish in the frozen fish case that was nice and inexpensive — Wild-Caught Alaska Pollock. I had never heard of it before, but figured for the price, it was worth buying it and giving it a try. But what is Pollock, anyway?

Alaska Pollock is a mild-flavored white fish with a delicate and flaky texture. It is a high protein, low fat fish that provides between 400 and 500 milligrams of heart healthy omega-3 fatty acids per 3 ounce cooked serving.

David and I were watching season 8 episode 5 of Food Network’s “Worst Cooks in America,” in which Chef Tyler Florence and Chef Anne Burrell teach their teams how to make Fish and Chips using Pollock. Tyler Florence referred to Pollock as a type of “Cinderella Seafood,” and explained that due to the over-fishing of really common fish, fishing companies are beginning to turn their attention to under-utilized, but equally delicious, fish like Pollock. Video: Skip to 21 minutes 24 seconds. I was like “Hey! That’s the fish I have in the freezer!”

After doing my research, I figured what better than tacos for this mild, flaky fish?

The day I made the fish tacos was the same day that my daughter had dance class that lasted until just before dinnertime, so I marinated my fish and prepared my toppings all in advance so I wouldn’t have so much to do after we got home.

I thawed one pack of frozen Pollock according to the package instructions, and marinated it in a mixture of canola oil, chili powder, lime juice, salt, pepper, and fresh cilantro. You can add jalapeno to this marinade, but we like our food mild in this house. I did all of this in the afternoon, so it had a good 4 hours to marinate, but all it really needs is at least 20 minutes.

fish tacos marinade 2

For my fish tacos, I found some soft Gluten-Free Corn Tortillas so my GF/DF husband, David, can eat them. They’re located in the International section of the supermarket.

Corn tortillas

For toppings, I made homemade Pico de Gallo, Guacamole, and I shredded some Napa Cabbage, and I made them all in advance to save time after dance class.

For the Pico de Gallo, I finely diced an onion, 8 plum tomatoes, 1/2 of a jalapeno pepper, and 1/4 cup of fresh cilantro, then added the juice of 1 lime and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Super easy!

Pico de Gallo ingredientsPico de Gallo

For the guacamole, I peeled and removed the pit from 2 avocados and diced them. I added about 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro, the juice of 1/2 a lime, salt and cumin to taste. I mashed everything together until the guacamole was the desired consistency.

When we got home from dance class, it was time to cook the fish so I preheated the oven to 425º F and put the fish on a baking sheet with aluminum foil. The fish cooked for 10 minutes, until it was flaky and cooked through. Because I did all my dinner prep in advance, 10 minutes is all it took for me to put dinner on the table after dance class!

fish tacos pre bakefish tacos baked

To assemble the tacos, I warm up a tortilla, and layer the fish with pico de gallo, guacamole and cabbage. If you can have dairy (like my daughter and I can), feel free to add some sour cream and/or cheese.

GF Pollock Fish Tacos with Pico de Gallo, Guacamole, and Napa Cabbage

  • 1 pound firm white fish such as mahi mahi, flounder (or Pollock!)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 3 limes, juiced (divided for marinade, pico de gallo, and guacamole)
  • 1 Tablespoon chili powder
  • 1-2 jalapeno, coarsely chopped (divided for marinade and pico de gallo)
  • 2 bunches chopped fresh cilantro (divided for marinade, pico de gallo, and guacamole)
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 avocados
  • cumin
  • 8 plum tomatoes
  • 1 white onion
  • 8 corn tortillas
  • 1 small head Napa cabbage, finely shredded
  • (sour cream)

Pollock

Mix together the 1/4 cup canola oil, juice of 1 lime, 1 tablespoon chili powder, jalapeno (however much or little, depending on how spicy you want it), 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, and a pinch of salt and pepper. Add fish and marinate in a shallow dish or gallon size zip-top bag for at least 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 425º F. Bake fish for 10 minutes, then flake the fish with a fork.

Heat the tortillas, then load with fish and all the toppings. Serve immediately. Recipe adapted from..

Pico de Gallo

Finely dice 8 plum tomatoes and 1 onion, add minced jalapeno (however much you like, depending on how spicy you want it), juice of 1 lime, 1/2 cup chopped cilantro and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Mix together.

Guacamole

Peel and remove the pit from 2 avocados, and dice. Combine with the juice of 1/2 a lime, some salt and cumin to taste, and a tablespoon of chopped fresh cilantro. You can also add some onion, jalapeno, garlic, and/or tomato. Mix up the guacamole until it’s blended but still chunky.


 

I hope you enjoy your Taco Tuesday, or Wednesday, Friday, whenever!

Happy cooking,

Laura

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

