GF Chicken Piccata with Mushrooms and Spinach

One of my favorite recipes is my version of Chicken Piccata. I like that my version has mushrooms and spinach because it adds a little more bite and nutrition to the dish. My 3-year-old daughter loves this dish, and I love that she’s getting more vegetables in her diet. This is a light-tasting, fresh meal that will send you to your happy place.

I make this dish using Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour and Blue Bonnet Lactose Free Butter so that my GF/DF husband, David, can eat it with us.

To make this, I start out cooking lemon slices in a little coconut oil for a 3 minutes on each side. I love this because it leaves a lemony flavor in the skillet, so when I cook the chicken, the GF breading absorbs the lemon flavor and it perfumes the chicken. Remove the lemon from the pan and set aside.

Next, I season the chicken with salt and pepper, then bread it in a little GF Flour. I let that cook for about 5 minutes per side, until it’s lightly browned. Take it out and set chicken aside.

Add the minced garlic to the pan for 30 seconds, and then add sliced mushrooms. I like to season the mushrooms with a little salt and pepper, and let them cook for a minute or so, then I add a splash of dry white wine. Scrape down the pan as the white wine deglazes the skillet, getting all the cooked chicken bits off the bottom of the pan. This step adds a ton of flavor to the sauce.

Once the mushrooms and wine have gotten a chance to mingle, I add the chicken back to the pan (and any juices that collected from the plate), and I add the capers and lemon (cooked and uncooked slices). Cook this together for about 5 minutes so that the chicken can finish cooking through the middle.

picata capers

Turn the heat down and add the butter, stir everything around. Finally, I add 2-3 handfuls of baby spinach. Once that’s wilted, serve and enjoy!

picata spinach

GF Chicken Piccata with Mushrooms and Spinach

  • 1 lemon, sliced 1/4-inch thick
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • salt and pepper
  • 1-2 tablespoons Gluten-Free flour
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons capers
  • Splash of dry white wine
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2-3 handfuls fresh Baby Spinach

Heat coconut oil in large cast iron skillet over medium-high heat. Add half of of the lemon slices and cook for 3-5 minutes on each side. Set aside on a plate.

Season chicken with salt and pepper, then lightly bread with GF flour, shaking off extra. Add to pan and sear on both sides, about 5 minutes each side. Set chicken aside on a plate.

Add garlic to pan for 30 seconds, then mushrooms (plus a little salt and pepper) for a few seconds, and finally the wine. Scrape down pan with wooden spoon. Add capers, chicken (and juices), cooked lemon and uncooked lemon to to the pan. Cook about 5 minutes, while sauce reduces slightly. Turn heat down to low and add butter and a couple handfuls of spinach. Serve when spinach is wilted.


 

Happy cooking,

Laura

Leave a Reply

