GF/DF Pancakes

It’s National Pancake Day! I usually don’t partake in these food holidays, but I love me some pancakes and couldn’t resist!

My pancakes are made completely and totally without gluten and dairy due to the employment of ingredients like egg whites and oatmeal. I love this because my whole family can enjoy these pancakes, including my GF/DF husband, David, and I don’t have to use a store-bought GF pancake mix. Truth be told, David doesn’t want pancakes very often (I don’t get it!) so I don’t want to buy GF pancake mix for it to crowd my pantry between uses. This recipe suits my family perfectly!

This recipe is quite small and makes one medium-sized pancake, but you can easily double or triple it. I find that 1 pancake makes for a nice, light breakfast or snack, but that 2 is more adequate for a meal. It’s quite dense, unlike your traditional fluffy pancake, but they are filling, delicious, and healthy!

All you need is a blender, skillet, and a spatula plus 2 egg whites, 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats, 1/2 a banana, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon.

Lets get started!

Combine the egg whites, oatmeal, banana, vanilla and cinnamon in a blender. To separate the egg whites, I use this amazing little gadget that my mother-in-law gave me. If you don’t have one, rock the yolk back and forth between the two halves of the egg shell while letting the egg white drop out, or you can simply strain the egg whites through your fingers.

Blend your pancake badder for at least 20 seconds so that the egg whites can fluff up. Here is a picture of the amount of badder in the bottom of my blender — enough for 1 pancake. All I wanted today was a snack.

Pancakes Blended ingredients

Next, pour the batter into a skillet over medium-low heat that has been greased with non-stick cooking spray, butter, coconut oil, etc. I used Smart Balance Dairy-Free Butter today.

pancakes cookingPancakes flipped

I let the pancake cook on the first side until the edges feel firm when I poke them with my spatula. Give it a flip and let it cook for another minute or two. Top with a little dairy free butter and/or maple syrup.

pancakes with butterpancakes finished

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

Blend all ingredients together in a blender for at least 20 seconds. Pour badder into a greased skillet that has been heated over medium-low heat. Cook on first side until the edges feel firm, and the second side for another minute or two.

Top with butter and/or maple syrup and enjoy!


 

Happy Pancake Day,

Laura

One Comment Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    I need to make these, it looks yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

