Pot Roast with Steak Seasoning

Montreal Steak SeasoningOne of my husband’s all-time favorite dinners is Pot Roast, and when I saw this recipe on Pinterest that includes steak seasoning, I thought it sounded amazing, and absolutely was! The pot roast turned out so tender, and the meat and vegetables were packed with flavor. My favorite steak seasoning is Montreal Steak Seasoning. Why have I not thought to use it on pot roast before?? It’s brilliant.

To make this dish, I started out mixing up the seasoning. I used the one and only Montreal Steak Seasoning, dried rosemary and dried thyme. The steak seasoning already has a good bit of salt, but I add just a tiny bit extra for the vegetables.

pot roast spice mix

Next I drizzled the chuck roast and the vegetables with some olive oil, and then I put 1/3 of the seasoning mix on the meat and 2/3 of the seasoning mix on the vegetables. Rub the seasoning mix all over the meat, and toss the vegetables around so the seasoning and the olive oil get evenly distributed.

As with any pot roast, it is best to sear the meat in a hot skillet on all sides until it’s crusty and browned. This helps trap some of the moisture inside the roast as it cooks all day. Once the meat is seared on all sides, transfer it to the slow cooker.

In the same skillet, I sauteed the vegetables for about 5 minutes.

pot roast veg sauteed

Next, I transferred the vegetables to the slow cooker, on top of the roast. Then I poured the beef broth into the slow cooker.

pot roast crockpot

I cooked my roast on low for about 8 hours. After cooking, I removed the meat and vegetables from the slow cooker. I poured the juices from the slow cooker into a sauce pan, but I poured it through a strainer to remove any of the excess herbs.

In a small bowl, I combined cornstarch and water and whisked it into my pan juices after it came to a slow boil. Let it continue to bubble away for a minute as it thickens.

Pot roast platter

Pot Roast with Steak Seasoning

  • 1 chuck roast (mine was 3 pounds)
  • Olive oil
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 2 pounds potatoes, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 1 onion, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 2 stalks celery, cut into large chunks
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 1 tablespoon of water

For the Seasoning Mix

  • 2 tablespoons Montreal Steak Seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 2 teaspoons dried rosemary

Combine ingredients for seasoning mix in a small bowl. Set aside.

Coat chuck roast in a little olive oil, and then add 1/3 of the seasoning mix to the meat on all sides. Rub it in. In a large bowl, drizzle vegetables with olive oil and the remaining 2/3 of the seasoning mix.

Sear roast in a skillet over medium-high heat on all sides until golden-brown, then transfer to slow cooker. Then saute the vegetables in the same skillet for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Transfer the vegetables to the slow cooker, on top of the chuck roast.

Add beef broth. Put the lid on and cook the roast and vegetables on low for 8-9 hours, or on high for 6 hours, depending on the size of the roast.

When the roast is done cooking, remove meat and vegetables from slow cooker and place on a platter. Pour the juices from the slow cooker into a sauce pan, through a sifter to remove excess herbs. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat.

In a small bowl, combine 1 tablespoon cornstarch and 1 tablespoon of water until clumps are gone, then whisk this slurry into the pan drippings. Allow this to boil for a couple of minutes to thicken, stirring constantly. Recipe Credit

Serve and enjoy!


Happy cooking,

Laura

One Comment Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    This sounds absolutely delicious! Comfort food…I miss eating roast beef, I may make it soon and just have a little. Dad would love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

