GF/DF Coq au Vin

David and I had our friends, Katharine and Rock, over for dinner the other night. Rock had spent the last work week traveling, so I wanted to prepare a really nice home-cooked meal. Looking through my Pinterest for inspiration, I came across Coq au Vin, which is basically chicken that has been cooked in wine. Now that sounds like something perfect to feed my guests!

I based my recipe off of Ina Garten’s recipe for Coq au Vin — a delightful combination of Pinot Noir, brandy, chicken, carrots, mushrooms, and pearl onions. I decided to use more carrots and mushrooms than Ina did, and I’m glad because they are so good!

Red wine is not something I enjoy drinking, but I have plenty of experience cooking beef with it. Until now, I was too scared to cook chicken in red wine thinking it’d be too strong. It definitely wasn’t too strong — it was awesome! Everything turned out great, and my guests were quite happy!

Let me tell you how I did it!

I started my dinner prep with cutting up my bacon, carrots, onion, and mushrooms. Coq au Vin Prep

Once my prep work was done, I cooked my bacon with some olive oil in a large dutch oven over medium heat until it was crisp, then removed it and set it aside. Next I patted my chicken dry with a paper towel, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and then browned my chicken on both sides in my dutch oven. I browned the chicken in batches so they could brown nicely and not steam.

coq chicken

When the chicken is all browned, I set them aside on a platter so I could cook my carrots and onion with salt and pepper for about 10 minutes. Next I added my garlic and cooked it for about 1 minute. Then I added 1/4 cup of brandy, 1 cup of chicken stock, a litte more than 1/2 a bottle Pinot Noir to the pot, and put the chicken and bacon back in the pot along with some fresh thyme (don’t even have to take it off the stem). Also, you don’t have to use Brandy, but I had it on hand so I figured “why not?”

coq pre bake

Next I put a lid on my Dutch oven and put it in the oven that was preheated to 250ºF and let it simmer for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a skillet, I sauteed my mushrooms in a little butter until they were golden-brown, about 10 minutes.

When the chicken was done, I added a mixture of dairy-free butter and Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free flour to thicken the broth. Just mix the flour and butter with a fork until it’s completely blended, and then add to the pot along with about 10 ounces of frozen pearl onions and sauteed mushrooms.

coq roux

Let this cook for another 10 minutes or so and it’s done!

Coq au Vin done

Who would have thought that something that sounds as fancy as Coq au Vin would be so easy? I cooked my Dairy-Free Garlic Mashed Potatoes as a side dish, and let me tell you, it was a good choice!

GF/DF Coq au Vin

  • 4 ounces good bacon, diced
  • 8 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 pound carrots, cut diagonally in 1-inch pieces
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon chopped garlic
  • 1/4 cup brandy
  • 1/2 bottle good dry red wine such as Pinot Noir
  • 1 cup good chicken stock, preferably homemade
  • 10 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted Blue Bonnet dairy-free butter, at room temperature, divided
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 pound frozen pearl onions
  • 1 pound cremini mushrooms, stems removed and thickly sliced

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F.

Heat the olive oil in a large Dutch oven. Add the bacon and cook over medium heat for 8 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Remove the bacon to a plate with a slotted spoon.

Meanwhile, lay the chicken out on paper towels and pat dry. Liberally sprinkle the chicken on both sides with salt and pepper. When the bacon is removed, brown the chicken pieces in batches in a single layer for about 5 minutes, turning to brown evenly. Remove the chicken to the plate with the bacon and continue to brown until all the chicken is done. Set aside.

Add the carrots, onions, 2 teaspoons salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper to the pan and cook over medium heat for 10 to 12 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onions are lightly browned. Add the garlic and cook for 1 more minute. Add the Cognac and put the bacon, chicken, and any juices that collected on the plate into the pot. Add the wine, chicken stock, and thyme and bring to a simmer. Cover the pot with a tight fitting lid and place in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes, until the chicken is just not pink. Remove from the oven and place on top of the stove.

Mash 1 tablespoon of butter and the flour together and stir into the stew. Add the frozen onions. In a medium saute pan, add the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter and cook the mushrooms over medium-low heat for 5 to 10 minutes, until browned. Add to the stew. Bring the stew to a simmer and cook for another 10 minutes. Season to taste. Serve hot.
Recipe adapted from…


Happy cooking,

Laura

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    The page wouldn’t work tonight for some reason to let me comment. So anyway, I think you need to make this for me sometime…..sounds so dang good!

    On Wed, Feb 10, 2016 at 12:17 PM, The Stay At Home Cook wrote:

    > mrsdjmj posted: “David and I had our friends, Katharine and Rock, over for > dinner the other night. Rock had spent the last work week traveling, so I > wanted to prepare a really nice home-cooked meal. Looking through my > Pinterest for inspiration, I came across Coq au Vin, w” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

