Ratatouille

Ratatouille MovieMy daughter and I were watching Disney and Pixar’s “Ratatouille” the other day — the lovable story about a French rat who loves to cook — and I thought, “I want to make that!” I mean, it’s healthy and 100% vegetables so my GF/DF husband can eat and enjoy without hesitation, and the dish is featured in a Disney movie so my daughter would love it!

Ratatouille is the combination of thinly sliced yellow squash, zucchini, eggplant and tomato on top of a tomato sauce, all baked together. You layer each vegetable slice throughout a casserole dish in a pretty pattern which makes it look gorgeous (especially if all the vegetables are the same diameter).

I have a mandolin slicer to help with slicing all of my Mandonlin Slicervegetables into even, thin slices. Please keep in mind while using a mandolin, the blade is extremely sharp. Use the hand guard at all times or you will lose a chunk of your thumb.. I would know! If you don’t have one, that’s fine, just slice the vegetables as thinly and evenly as you possibly can with a knife.

I used an 8×8 baking dish for my ratatouille in which I combined 1 cup of tomato puree, 1/2 diced onion, 2 thinly sliced garlic cloves, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/8 teaspoon of pepper.

Next, I layered my eggplant, squash, zucchini, and tomatoes in a pattern that I repeated until the vegetables were gone and there was no more room in my baking dish.

On top of the vegetables, I sprinkled the leaves of 4 thyme sprigs, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/8 teaspoon of pepper.

The oven was preheated to 375ºF. I covered my ratatouille with parchment paper that I cut down to the size of the baking dish, and baked it for about 50 minutes.

Ratatouille

You can definitely tell that my vegetables were not all the same size around, but that’s all I could find at my supermarket. It still tasted amazing! At David’s request, I served my ratatouille with some baked chicken legs that I seasoned with Lawry’s Seasoned Salt and baked at 375ºF for 40 minutes. Last night’s dinner was a simple one, but sometimes those are the best!

Ratatouille and chicken

Ratatouille

  • 1 cup tomato puree
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper, divided
  • 1 eggplant, thinly sliced (about 1/8 inch)
  • 1 yellow squash, thinly sliced
  • 1 zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 2 plum tomatoes, thinly sliced
  • 4 fresh thyme sprigs, stems removed

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Cut a piece of parchment to fit an 8×8 baking dish.

Pour tomato puree into bottom of baking dish. Drop the sliced garlic cloves and diced onion into the sauce. Stir in 1 tablespoon of the olive oil and season with half the salt and pepper, stirring to mix evenly.

Trim the ends off the eggplant, zucchini, yellow squash, and tomatoes. Using a mandoline slicer, slice each vegetable very thin, about 1/8″ thick.

Arrange slices on top of the tomato sauce in a large spiral, overlapping each vegetable slightly, and keeping the order the same (All the vegetables may not fit, as this is more about presentation).

Drizzle the remaining olive oil on top and season with remaining salt and pepper. Remove thyme leaves from stems and sprinkle on top. Cover with parchment paper.

Bake for 45 to 55 minutes, until vegetables have released their liquid and are clearly cooked, but with some structure left. Recipe Credit


 

Happy cooking,
Laura

Leave a Reply

