Lentil Soup with Turkey Sausage and GF Cornbread

I’m a big believer in soup, especially during the cold Winter months. Lentil Soup is something my mom used to make when I was growing up, although I believe that I have improved upon her recipe. My mom didn’t use sausage in her lentil soup, which was still tasty, but lets just say there’s a reason why I won’t make the soup again without sausage ever again. For health purposes, I decided to start using Turkey Italian Sausage instead of pork. You can’t tell the difference!

Lentil Soup with Turkey Sausage is a healthy soup made with lean turkey, lots of vegetables and dried herbs, and lentils (duh). It’s also incredibly simple to make! It’s a matter of browning the sausage and then putting all the rest of the ingredients in the pot, and simmering it all for an hour. That’s it!

I also like to pair this soup with Gluten-Free Cornbread. My mom used to always serve cornbread with basically every soup she ever made, so in her memory (and the memory of my entire childhood) I follow suit. It’s comforting to carry on traditions from one’s childhood and pass them down to my daughter.

So start the soup, I take about a pound of turkey sausage and remove it from its casing, and then brown it in my soup pot or Dutch oven. To remove the sausage from its casing, simply run your knife down the side of the sausage link and pry the casing off.

Once the sausage is browned, add the vegetables. I use carrots, onion, celery, zucchini, and canned tomatoes. You can also add some corn in this like my mom used to. At this point, I also add the lentils and dried herbs.

Once all of your dry ingredients are combined, add the chicken broth. lentil soup pre simmer

Now simply bring the soup to a boil, then reduce the head to low and let it simmer for 1 hour.

Lentil soup 2

Like I mentioned earlier, I also love to serve this with Gluten-Free Cornbread. I have fallen in love with the Kroger brand “Simple Truth” GF Cornbread. While the cornbread mix does call for milk, to make it Dairy-Free, I use coconut milk in it.

GF Corn Bread 2

Lentil Soup with Turkey Sausage

  • 1 pound Turkey Italian Sausage, out of casings
  • 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 large carrots, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 large zucchini, halved and sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 cup dry lentils
  • 6 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley

Brown sausage in Dutch oven, add all other ingredients. Bring to boil, reduce heat to simmer over low heat for 1 hour. Serve with GF Cornbread!


I hope this healthy and comforting dish helps keep you warm this Winter!

Happy cooking,
Laura

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

