GF/DF Schnitzel and Spaetzle

Guten Tag!

There have been several times in my life that I have heard of this German food called “Schnitzel,” and up until now I had never thought to taste it. In fact, I didn’t even know what it was (other than fun to say). “Schnitzel.. Schnitzel.. Schnitzel..” Yep, definitely fun to say. Come to find out, schnitzel is simply a fried pork chop.

I was watching an episode of Food Network’s “Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives” (aka “Triple D”) a couple weeks ago in which Guy Fieri eats schnitzel at a diner. I looked really tasty, so I took to Pinterest to find a recipe. Once I realized how easy it was, I immediately put it on my menu for the following week.

Also listed on this particular Pinterest pin was a German side dish called “Spaetzle.” This rang a bell, and I remembered that I had seen this on TV before, probably on “Triple D” . It’s a nutmegy dumpling dough that you force through the holes of a colander or slotted spoon into boiling water to poach. The dumplings set up, and then you cook it in a skillet in butter until the little dumplings get a lightly browned.

Both of these recipes sounded really fun and delicious, so I decided to make a completely German-inspired meal for my family. Of course, I needed to alter these recipes to be Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free for my GF/DF husband, David. I used coconut milk, Blue Bonnet dairy-free butter, Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose gluten-free flour, and Ian’s Natural Foods Panko gluten-free breadcrumbs.

I started by putting a pot of salted water on the stove to bring to a boil. Then I began preparing my Spaetzle dough with combining my GF flour, salt, pepper, and nutmeg in a bowl, and separately whisking together my eggs and DF milk in another bowl, and finally adding the egg/DF milk mixture into the dry ingredients.

 

When the water was boiling, I spooned some (not all) of my spaetzle dough into a colander and used a spatula to force it through the holes in the colander into the boiling water. You’ll need to work in batches.

Spaetzle collinder

After about 5 minutes of boiling, I used a large mesh strainer to retrieve the spaetzle from the water.

I poured the spaetzle on a cookie sheet lined with paper towel to dry until I was ready to pan fry them.

Spaetzle cooked

This was a good point for me to stop working with the spaetzle and turn my attention to the schnitzel.

I began by pounding my boneless pork chops with a meat mallet. If you don’t have one, you can always use anything that’s nice and heavy and flat on the bottom to pound the pork chops. I pounded the pork  chops until they were about 1/2 inch thick. As you pound, you should try and push the mallet down and outward at the same time.

Next, I seasoned the pork chops with salt and pepper and set them aside so I could assemble my dredging station. I used 3 shallow bowls in which I put GF flour, eggs and DF milk, and GF Panko breadcrumbs (in that order). I also got my cast iron skillet on the stove with 1/3 cup of oil to heat up over medium/medium-high heat.

Schnitzel prep station

One-by-one I dredged my pork chops in the GF flour (shaking off any extra), then the egg/DF milk mixture, then into the GF breadcrumbs, then I put them in my skillet to fry for about 5 minutes on each side.

Schnitzel cooked

When the schnitzel were done frying, I put them on a cookie sheet lined with paper towel to soak up the extra grease while I fried up the second batch (I had 5 pork chops to work with).

At this point, I picked back up with my spaetzle. I melted 2 tablespoons of DF butter in a skillet and added my spaetzle until it got a little color on it.

To plate everything, I put a handful of baby Romaine lettuce on my plate and squeezed fresh lemon juice on it. Then I place one of my schnitzel on top, squeezing more lemon juice directly on the schnitzel. Last, I simply plated my spaetzle next to my lettuce and schnitzel. I love the choice of baby Romaine because you get some pretty purple leaves that make the dish look more elegant, but it’s a mild enough green for my palate. I’m not one who loves strong, peppery greens like arugula. I love the lemon and greens with the schnitzel. Fried foods can be so heavy that the really need something light to brighten it up and make it more elegant.

Schnitzel and Spaetzle

Gluten-Free/Dairy-Free Schnitzel

  • 4-5 boneless pork chops
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1⁄4 cup dairy-free milk (coconut, almond, soy)
  • 1 cup gluten-free flour (Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose)
  • 1 cup gluten-free bread Panko crumbs (Ian’s Natural Foods)
  • About 1/3 cup of oil to fry (enough to cover bottom of pan)
  • 4 lemon wedges
  • Baby Romaine lettuce

Pound the pork until it’s about 1/2 inch thick. Season with salt and pepper.

In separate shallow bowls, put GF flour in one bowl, mix the egg & DF milk in another, and the GF bread crumbs in the last.

Heat the oil to medium/medium-high in a large skillet or non-stick pan.

Dredge each chop in flour first, then egg/milk, and then into the crumbs. If needed, press the crumbs into the sides. Drop into the oil and cook 3-4 minutes per side.

To plate, pile some baby Romaine and squeeze some lemon juice on it, then place schnitzel on top and squeeze a little more lemon juice on that. Recipe Adapted From..


 

Gluten-Free/ Dairy-Free Spaetzle

  • 1 cup gluten-free flour (Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 T dairy-free butter (Blue Bonnet lactose-free butter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup dairy-free milk (coconut, almond, soy)

Set a large pot of water to boil.

In one bowl, mix the GF flour, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and dairy-free butter. In another bowl, beat the eggs and DF milk. Combine the wet ingredients to the dry ones a bit at a time, stirring to combine. Press the dough through the holes of a colander or a slotted spoon, a little at a time–don’t overcrowd the pot! You’ll have to work in batches.

Cook 5-6 minutes as it’s floating to the top. Remove from water and pat dry on paper towels. When it’s completely dry, cook the spaetzle in batches with butter until brown and a little crispy for 5-6 minutes. Recipe Adapted From…


 

glückliche Kochen (Happy cooking),

Laura

Leave a Reply

