GF/DF Sausage, Beef and Spinach Meatloaf

My mom’s meatloaf – or as I like to call it, “The Best Meatloaf in the World” – is something special to me. Ever since my mom passed away, her recipes have been like gold to me, but this particular recipe was like gold even before then! It is a fantastic combination of flavors like ground beef and Italian pork sausage. The addition of spinach keeps the meatloaf super moist, and it sneaks in some greens for the children in your life!

Mom’s recipe wasn’t always gluten-free and dairy-free (GF/DF), but ever since my husband, David, had to change his diet, I had to change my mom’s recipe. I now use Ian’s Natural Food brand GF Breadcrumbs, and any sort of DF Milk alternative like coconut milk or almond milk. I’ll do anything I can to give my husband and daughter a taste of the food my mom used to put out. I’d hate for them to miss out on such delicious food!

Mom’s meatloaf is really simple to put together. Let me tell you how!

First I put 1 pound of ground round and 1 pound of mild Italian pork sausage into a mixing bowl. You could definitely use hot Italian sausage if you want your meatloaf to have a kick. I was able to find my sausage already out of the casing, but if you can’t find it this way simply take the casing off and proceed.

Meatloaf meats

Next, I add 1/4 cup of Ian’s Natural Foods GF Breadcrumbs, 1/3 cup of DF milk (I used almond milk), and 2 eggs to the mixing bowl with the meat.

Ian's GF Breadcrumbs

Next, I chop up 1/2 of a medium onion and add that to my mixture. Finally, I thaw 10 ounces of chopped frozen spinach. Make sure to squeeze the excess moisture from the spinach. You can use a dish cloth to wring it out or a mesh strainer. You’d be surprised how much water comes out! No body wants a soggy meatloaf.

Meatloaf Spinach water

Add the spinach to the meat mixture and mix it all up until just combined. I use my stand mixer and its paddle attachment so the meat doesn’t get overworked or squeezed together.

As soon as the meatloaf is done mixing, I place it on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil (easy clean up) and form it into a loaf shape.

Meatloaf Raw

See how pretty it is with the spinach speckled throughout the meatloaf?

Let the meatloaf bake at 350ºF for 60-70 minutes.

I served my meatloaf last night with some roasted asparagus and white rice.

Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Sausage, Beef, and Spinach Meatloaf

  • 1 pound Ground Round
  • 1 pound Italian pork sausage
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/3 DF milk alternative
  • 1/4 Ian’s GF Breadcrumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • 10 ounces thawed frozen chopped spinach, drained of all excess water

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl. Place on a baking sheet and mold into loaf shape. Bake for 60-70 minutes.


Happy cooking,
Laura

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. yummyashley says:

    Yummy, love the incorporation of sausage in this loaf! If you want another good meatloaf recipe, try my veggie loaded chicken meatloaf! https://honeyandcardamom.wordpress.com/2016/02/25/veggie-loaded-chicken-meatloaf/

    Like

Leave a Reply

