GF/DF Chicken Fried Steak

I’m a Southern girl and my husband, David, is originally from the North. Come to find out, David, had never had Chicken Fried Steak before! For those of you who don’t know, Chicken Fried Steak is simply cube steak that is breaded and fried in the same way you would fry chicken. I knew that I had to make this meal for David, and I knew that he would absolutely love it!

Given his intolerance for gluten and dairy, I had to utilize my gluten-free pantry to be able to make this meal for David. I used a mixture of Ian’s Gluten Free Panko Breadcrumbs and Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour for the breading, and coconut milk in the egg part of the dredging process that I’ll tell you all about, trust me.

First, I prepared my dredging station using 3 shallow bowls. In the first bowl, I added 1/2 cup of GF flour; in the second bowl, I whisked together 2 eggs and 1/3 cup of DF milk; and in the third bowl I mixed together 1/2 cup of GF flour, 1/2 cup of GF breadcrumbs, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper.

chicken fried steak dredging station

Once I got that set up, I heated up my vegetable oil in a cast iron skillet, about 1/2 inch worth over medium heat. Then I seasoned my cube steak with salt and pepper, then dredged each of my steaks in the GF flour, shaking off the excess flour, then into the egg mixture, and lastly into the breadcrumb mixture. Into the oil my steaks went for about 4 minutes per side.

When my steaks were golden brown on both sides, I removed them from the pan and laid them on a baking sheet that was lined with paper towel to soak up any excess oil. chicken fried steak oil straining

Next, I poured my vegetable oil through a mesh strainer into a heat-proof bowl. Remember, this oil is going to be super hot, so pouring it into plastic would be catastrophic because the plastic would melt. I decided to use the metal bowl to my stand mixer. The oil that you’re saving through this process will be put to use in the gravy that tops the steak. That’s why I strained the oil – so I could remove any extra breading from what would become my gravy. Keep in mind that this oil is nicely flavored from the steaks which adds flavor to the gravy.

I added 1/4 cup of my strained vegetable oil back to my cast iron skillet and whisked in 1/4 cup of GF flour and let it cook for 1 minute. Then I whisked in, little by little, 1 1/2 cups of DF milk. The GF flour slowly absorbs the DF milk, so you’ll be able to tell when the consistency is right and whether or not you’ll need a full 2 cups of DF milk. Once you like the consistency of the gravy, add salt and pepper until it tastes just right!

To go with my GF/DF Chicken Fried Steaks, I made up some DF mashed potatoes and I steamed some green beans. You can check out my recipe for DF Garlic Mashed Potatoes here. Just simply leave out the garlic for this dish!

chicken fried steak

Gluten Free/ Dairy Free Chicken Fried Steak

  • 6 pieces cube steak (about 2 pounds)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Flour, divided
  • 1/2 cup Ian’s GF Panko Breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • ⅓ cup DF milk (I used Coconut milk)
  • Vegetable oil
Dairy Free Gravy
  • ¼ cup Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Flour
  • 1½ to 2 cups DF milk

Season cubed steak lightly with salt and pepper.

Place ½ cup GF flour in a shallow bowl. Mix remaining ½ cup GF flour, GF breadcrumbs, salt, and cayenne pepper in another shallow bowl. Whisk together eggs and ⅓ cup DF milk in a third shallow bowl. Dredge cubed steak in GF flour, dip in egg mixture, and then coat with GF breadcrumb mixture.

Heat about ½-inch oil in a large pan (preferably cast iron) over medium heat. Cook steak in 2 batches for about 3 minutes per side. Remove steak to a paper towel-lined baking sheet.

Pour oil that is left in pan through a fine-meshed sieve into a heat-proof bowl. Measure out ¼ cup and return it to pan. Add GF flour to pan and cook over medium heat for 1 minute. Gradually whisk in DF milk and cook until thick. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Recipe Inspiration


Well, I was right – David loved this Southern dish made my this Southern gal. I know you’ll love it too!

Happy cooking,
Laura

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    That looks so good! Your Father in law would love that!

    Like

  2. Jesseca says:

    Can the eggs be eliminated? Is there a substitute?

    Like

    1. mrsdjmj says:

      That is a good question. My husband doesn’t have difficulty with eggs, so I’ve never had to substitute them. Perhaps try skipping it all together, but that will alter the texture of your breading. Good luck!! And please let me know if you discover a good trick!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

