Artichoke Chicken

After a busy day, sometimes I really don’t feel like making a meal that requires the use of 100 bowls and utensils or taking half my evening standing over the stove – crazy, right? One of the most ideal dishes is Artichoke Chicken.

I got this recipe from The Chew a while back. I love how easy and quick it is to put together, and how few dishes there are to clean after dinner.

I simply combined 1 can of quartered artichoke hearts, 1 pound of white button mushrooms that I cut in half, and 1 medium onion that I cut into pieces that were the same size as the artichokes and placed them in a large casserole dish.

artichoke chicken veg

Next, I put 4 pounds of chicken thighs on top of the vegetables. I prefer bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs.

artichoke chicken on veg

Next, I use a measuring cup to combine all of my seasonings: 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup white wine, 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1 minced garlic clove, 2 tablespoons of whole grain mustard, 1/4 teaspoon dried basil, 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme, 1/4 teaspoon dried tarragon, salt and pepper, and 1 bay leaf. After mixing it all together, I just pour it over the chicken and vegetables and toss it into a 375ºF oven for 1 hour, basting it at the 30 minute mark.

The recipe calls for red wine, but I chose to use white wine instead. I don’t usually keep red wine in the house, but I always have white wine.

artichoke chicken spiced

artichoke chicken baked

I changed the recipe a little bit to suit my taste. Not only did I substitute white wine for the red, but I also raised the baking temperature from the original recipe. I like a really crispy skin on my chicken, so I baked it at 375º for 1 hour, rather than 350º for 1 1/2 hours.

artichoke chicken done

Beautiful, isn’t it?

Artichoke Chicken

  • 4 pounds chicken legs and/or thighs
  • 1 cup artichoke hearts (halved)
  • 1 medium onion (cut into chunks – to match the artichokes)
  • 1 pound white button mushrooms (halved or quartered)
  • 2 tablespoons whole grain mustard
  • 1 clove garlic (minced)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup red wine (or white wine)
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried tarragon
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt and pepper (to taste)

Preheat oven to 375ºF.

Place chicken, skin side up, in a baking pan.  Distribute artichoke hearts, onion and mushrooms over the top. In a small mixing bowl, combine mustard, garlic, olive oil, vinegar, wine, dried spices, salt and pepper. Pour over the chicken. 

Place in the oven and bake for 1 hour, basting half way through. 

Original Recipe


Enjoy this simple and delicious dinner, and have your spouse do the dishes — what? There’s hardly any!

Happy cooking,
Laura

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow this sounds so good 😍😍😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

