Baked Mustard Chicken

You know how some people are “ketchup-people” and others are “mustard-people”? Most of the people I know are ketchup-people, but I am all about the mustard. Ever since I was a little girl, I can remember friends drenching their french fries, hot dogs, hamburgers, and even eggs in ketchup; but there I was with my beloved mustard, receiving weird looks. It may just be my bias talking, but I believe this dish will convert even the biggest ketchup-people to mustard-people!

There’s so much more to mustard than classic yellow mustard, such as whole grain mustard, honey mustard, spicy mustard, and Dijon mustard (not to mention mustard greens themselves). There are several health benefits of mustard that you can check out here.

The recipe I’m sharing today involves the classic yellow, whole grain, and Dijon mustards.

To make this easy dish, I start by preheating my oven to 375ºF. Then I sprayed a 9×13 casserole dish with nonstick cooking spray. Next, I mixed together my mustard mixture which is 1/4 cup of whole grain mustard, 2 tablespoons of classic yellow mustard, and 2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard, plus 2 teaspoons of olive oil and 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons of honey.

Mustard chicken mustard mix

Next I chopped up 1/2 cup of onion and 2 cloves of garlic. In a skillet over medium heat, I sauteed my onion for 3 minutes in 1 teaspoon of olive oil, and then I added my garlic and cooked it for 30 seconds. When that was done, I placed my sauteed onion and garlic in an even layer in my casserole dish.

Next I seasoned my chicken breasts with salt and pepper on both sides, and placed them in an even layer on top of the onion and garlic mixture. Then I put a sprig of fresh rosemary in between each chicken breast. This will add a nice depth of flavor to the dish.

mustard chicken raw

Finally, I poured my mustard mixture over the top of the chicken, making sure to cover each chicken breast completely.

mustard chicken raw with mustard

I covered my dish with aluminum foil and baked it for 20 minutes, and then removed the foil and cooked it for another 20 minutes (just until the thick part of the chicken breasts read 165ºF on an instant read thermometer).

Mustard chicken baked

I served my dinner with some rice and some broccoli and it was delicious!

  • 2 lbs – 2 1/4 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast (4 – 6 medium chicken breasts)
  • 1/4 cup whole grain mustard
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons yellow mustard
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons honey
  • 3 tsp olive oil, divided
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 small sprigs rosemary

Preheat oven to 375ºF. In a mixing bowl whisk together whole grain mustard, Dijon mustard, yellow mustard, honey and 2 teaspoons olive oil. Spray a large baking dish with non-stick cooking spray (large enough to fit chicken without over crowding).

In a small skillet, heat remaining 1 teaspoon olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and saute 3 minutes, then add garlic and saute 30 seconds longer. Pour into prepared baking dish and spread into an even layer. Season each chicken breast with salt and pepper on both sides, then set chicken over onion layer in baking dish.

Pour mustard mixture evenly over chicken, working to cover each chicken breast entirely. Lay sprigs of rosemary between chicken breasts, then cover dish with foil. Bake in preheated oven 20 minutes then uncover and bake until chicken has cooked through, about 15 – 25 minutes longer (note that cook time will vary based on thickness of chicken breasts so just keep an eye on it. It should register 165ºF in thickest part of breast on an instant read thermometer. It could be less or more time than that listed). Serve warm, spoon more sauce over chicken as desired.

Recipe Credit


mustard seed

Happy cooking,
Laura

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    I’m gonna try this real soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

