Taco Stuffed Peppers

I found this great recipe on Facebook a few weeks back — Taco Stuffed Peppers. I thought to myself, “I love stuffed peppers, and I love tacos. This is genius!” All I can say is, you’ve got to try this! It’s too good not to share.

I’ll get right to it.

The recipe I’m posting says to use 4 peppers. After trying this recipe once, I realized that there was way more stuffing than peppers, so 4 peppers would be better. I chose to do all different colored peppers, but next time I think I’ll omit the green pepper. The sweetness of the red and yellow (and orange) peppers are my preference.

Preheat your oven to 350ºF.
Cut the tops off the peppers, and then take a paring knife and cut out the core of the pepper without piercing the outside “walls” of the peppers.

Place the peppers into a baking dish. If you’re using 3, a loaf pan is perfect. Just pick something that won’t let the peppers fall over while baking.

Taco Peppers Pan

Bake the empty peppers for 20 minutes. If you skip this step, the final product will simply be raw peppers with stuffing inside. Not ideal. This step of baking empty peppers just cooks the peppers about half-way through, so they’re nice and soft by the time they’re stuffed and finished baking.

Taco Peppers Baked 20 min

While the peppers are baking, start work on the stuffing. In large skillet, heat a little oil and brown 1 pound of ground beef, then add a packet of Mrs. Dash taco seasoning. I like Mrs. Dash or El Paso seasoning because they’re dairy-free.

Taco Peppers Seasoning

Next, add 1 chopped onion to the beef.

Then add 1 can of black beans that have been drained and rinsed off.

Now add 1 cup of corn and 1 cup of cooked rice.

Taco Peppers Rice

I didn’t have an entire jar of salsa, but I used what I had. At this point, if you eat dairy, you could add 1 cup of cheese to the mixture.

Finally, I stuffed my peppers.

Taco Stuffed Peppers Prebaked

And again, for the dairy-eaters out there, you can top the peppers with a little more cheese. Bake the peppers for 15 minutes on 350º.

While that’s baking, I made some fresh guacamole.

Here’s the finished product before toppings.

Taco Pepper

This is my pepper. I can have dairy, so I topped it with some guacamole, cotija cheese, which tastes like the Parmesan cheese of Mexico, and cilantro.

Taco Pepper mine

My daughter’s 1/2 pepper, on the other hand, was topped with a little cheddar cheese and guacamole. And folks, my 3-year-old ate THE WHOLE THING!

Taco Pepper Holly's

Taco Stuffed Peppers

  • 4 bell peppers, cored and seeded
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 packet Mrs. Dash taco seasoning
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup of corn, drained
  • 1 cup of prepared rice
  • 1 small jar salsa
  • 1 cup cheese, like monerey jack (optional in stuffing and/or topping)
  • fresh prepared guacamole
  • cotija cheese, crumbled (optional for topping)

Core and seed 3-4 bell peppers. Bake empty peppers on 350ºF for 20 minutes.

While the peppers bake, make the filling. Brown beef, add taco seasoning, then add onion, beans, corn, cooked rice, and salsa. You can add cheese if you’d like.

When the peppers are done baking, fill them with the stuffing mixture and bake them for 15 minutes longer with the oven still at 350ºF.

Top with guacamole, cheese, cilantro — whatever you like!

Recipe Credit


 

Happy cooking,
Laura

 

Leave a Reply

