Deadpool’s Deadlicious Tacos (Carne Asada Tacos)

I love my husband for more reasons that I can count, but one of those reasons is that he is a total nerd. He took me to see the new Deadpool movie on Valentine’s Day, which is entirely fitting for our relationship. A couple weeks later, he ordered a package from Loot Crate. I’m still not entirely sure what it is, but they send t-shirts and collectibles (or what I call Toys) to whoever orders every month. His Loot Crate was filled with Deadpool stuff, The Walking Dead stuff, and a magazine. In this magazine, we found Deadpool’s Deadlicious Tacos. Of course we had to make them! I’m glad we did, because they’re seriously delicious!

deadpool taco heart

Deadpool’s Deadlicious Tacos are essentially Carne Asada Tacos. David made them all by himself!

I can tell you that the recipe starts off by marinating 2 pounds of flank or skirt stead in the juice of 2 limes, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of pepper, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, 1 teaspoon of paprika, and 1/2 teaspoon chili powder.

deadpool stead

After an hour, David cooked the steak in the cast iron skillet until it was a lovely medium cook.

We used gluten-free blue corn hard taco shells, and layered the steak with spinach, red onion, and salsa. David can’t have dairy, but I sure can! So I topped my taco with cotija cheese.

Deadpool Meat

Deadpool’s Deadlicious Tacos
(in the voice of Deadpool)

  • 2 pounds of flap, flank, or skirt steak
  • 2 limes
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon chile powder
  • 1 package of corn tortillas
  • 1 jar of salsa
  • 1 package cotija cheese

Mix salt, pepper, garlic powder, chile powder, and paprika together and coat both sides of steak. Rub it in real good.

Squeeze the lime juice on both sides, cover, and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Grill the steak. Let rest for 5 minutes. Cut cooked steak into strips or small pieces. If you don’t have a bbq or a grill, you can use a flamethrow-I’m sorry, what? Okay, so the editor is telling me no flamethrower. Something about safety and fires. Spoil sport. Use the broiler, then- 5-7 minutes on each side, depending on thickness. Or you can use a regular pan, I guess. Whatever.

Warm up 2 corn tortillas and stack them on your plate. Note: Using only 1 corn tortilla results in a taco that will self-destruct in your hand.

Layer with steak, salsa, and sprinkle with cotija cheese. if you’re adding extra topping business, safe Cotija cheese for last. Make it all pretty like.

Stuff it in your facehole!

Recipe Credit: Tamara Brooks and Loot Crate Magazine


Happy cooking,
Laura

One Comment Add yours

  1. chon says:

    gonna try this :>

    Like

Leave a comment