Baked Chicken and Vegetables

When my daughter and I get home from her weekly dance class, sometimes I feel like there’s not enough time to put a healthy and complete dinner together… And then I discovered this gem of a recipe. Baked Chicken and Vegetables is incredibly healthy and delicious. It takes 30-40 minutes to bake, but the beauty of it is that it can easily be prepared ahead of time. So on dance class day, I threw this dish together during the afternoon before class, so when we go home, all I had to do was preheat the oven and toss my dish in the oven to cook. While this was cooking, I made some brown rice to complete the meal.

Just use whatever veggies sound good to you, or what’s on sale at the store that day, plus some chicken breasts and you’re all set. I happened to have red onion and carrots already in the fridge, so this was a great chance to clean out my leftover vegetables I had hanging around. I happen to love mushrooms and can’t think about this dish without them. I HAD to use broccoli for my daughter. I swear, she’s going to turn into a broccoli floret the way she’s going.

chicken and veg prebake

I love how colorful this dish is! It’s absolutely gorgeous. I used a red onion simply because that’s what I had on-hand, so there’s that lovely color, plus the green of the broccoli and zucchini, orange carrots, yellow squash, and white mushrooms. I just tossed all of my veggies with olive oil, salt and pepper. You could definitely add garlic (or garlic powder) to this.

40 minutes later, dinner was ready!

chicken and veg cooked

 

Baked Chicken and Vegetables 

  • 2-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • salt and pepper
  • 1-2 heads of broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1 yellow squash, sliced
  • 1 zucchini, sliced
  • 1/2 onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 pound mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 small carrots, peeled and cut into chunks

Season 2-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts with salt and pepper, then set them aside. Chop up your vegetables and put into large baking dish. Mix in 2-4 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of salt and pepper, and then mix it all up. Next, place chicken breasts in the middle of the dish. Bake at 400ºF for 30-40 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

Recipe adapted from…


Happy cooking,
Laura

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    I love meals you can make ahead! Looks super healthy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

