GF Michigan Olive Burgers

My husband’s family is originally from Michigan. We traveled to the “Mitten” last summer to visit and I was introduced to the Olive Burger. Olive Burgers are simply a burger that is topped with an olive/mayonnaise mixture. It is absolutely amazing, if you like green olives, that is. I happen to adore them, so I’m obviously obsessed with these burgers.

olive burger mayo

I was so impressed by this Michigan specialty, I had to learn how to make them at home. I use Gluten-Free (GF) burger buns for my GF/DF husband, and the rest of our favorite burger toppings, and of course, the olive/mayo mix.

The briny olives just bring a very welcomed brightness to your traditional hamburger.

I hope you enjoy this Michigan delight as much as we do! Every time I bite into one of these babies, I feel like I’m back at the lake in Michigan with my family.

Gluten-Free Michigan Olive Burgers

  • 4 Gluten-Free Hamburger Buns
  • 1 pound ground chuck
  • Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
  • 20 whole green olives with pimento, chopped
  • 4 teaspoons olive juice
  • 4 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • Lettuce or spinach
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 Tomato, sliced
  • 4 slices American cheese (optional)

Olive Topping:
Mix chopped olives, olive juice, and mayonnaise.

Burger patties:
Sprinkle ground chuck with Lawry’s seasoned salt before forming patties. Mix well and form into 4 patties. Cook on a grill or in a cast iron skillet until beef reaches desired cook temperature.

Last, build your burgers and enjoy!


Happy cooking,
Laura

Leave a Reply

