Egg “Muffins”2 Ways: Sausage and Onion (DF) & Spinach, Mushroom, Feta

The school year has started and now I am faced with a whole new world. My 4-year-old daughter has started Pre-K, and with that comes free time for Mommy — Whaaaaat??? It’s kind of amazing. But remember, “With great power (and free time) comes great responsibility.”

I’ve decided to use my time wisely during school hours by getting to the gym, running all of my errands, and completing my chores before afternoon carpool. Some of those chores include meal prep and my husband, David, made a special request last weekend: Breakfast To Go.

When figuring out what do make for David to take to work with him, I knew it needed to contain meat. With a generous donation of 3 dozen eggs by my father-in-law, the on-the-go breakfast choice was obvious: Sausage and Onion Egg “Muffins.”

To make David’s egg “muffins,” I browned 1 pound of breakfast sausage in a skillet along with 1/2 of a medium onion, and then I drained all the grease. To drain the grease, you could use a slotted spoon as you’re spooning the sausage into the muffin cups, but I actually squeezed the grease out by hand today (after letting the sausage cool for a few minutes). Don’t skip the draining step — no one wants to eat a greasy muffin!

Egg muffins sausage cooked

Next, I whisked together 12 eggs and 1/4 cup of almond milk (because David is dairy-free). I chose not to add any salt to the egg mixture because the sausage is already pretty salty, but I did add a little black pepper.

Egg Muffins eggs and almond milkEgg muffins whisked eggs

Then I sprayed my muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray, and evenly distributed the browned sausage and onion mixture in the cups before spooning the egg mixture on top. You could definitely add some cheddar cheese to this mixture if you can consume dairy products.

Egg muffins sausageEgg muffins sausage raw

Finally, I carefully placed my muffin tin in a preheated 350ºF oven for 23 minutes.

Egg muffins sausage done

As I was cooking David’s egg “muffins,” I decided to make some for myself and for our daughter. After all, why should he have all the fun breakfast foods? So I decided to go a bit more “girly” by doing egg “muffins” with spinach, mushrooms, and feta cheese (sounds good, right??). I can have dairy, so I obviously needed to add cheese to my “muffins.”

I started by  sauteeing 1/2 of a chopped onion in a skillet with 8 ounces of white button mushrooms that I wiped clean and coarsely chopped and cooked it until the mushrooms were brown and had released all of their moisture. Then I added a couple handfuls of chopped fresh spinach (frozen spinach would work too, just make sure to squeeze excess water from thawed spinach) to the skillet and cooked it all until the spinach wilted, and finally added a little salt and pepper.

Egg muffins Spinach mixture

Next, I whisked together 12 more eggs and 1/4 cup of almond milk (regular milk is fine too). For this recipe, I did add a pinch of salt and pepper to the egg mix. Then I added the spinach mixture to the eggs after it cooled down. You want to let the spinach mixture cool so it doesn’t start cooking the eggs before it gets in the oven. This is where I also added about 1/2 cup of feta cheese.

egg muffins spinach badder

I sprayed my muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray and evenly distributed my mixture around all 12 muffin cups and baked it on 350ºF for 23 minutes.

Egg Muffins Done

Now all we have to do in the mornings is microwave our egg “muffins” for 30 seconds and breakfast is served!


Sausage and Onion Egg “Muffins” (DF)

  • 12 eggs
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (or other milk alternative if dairy free)
  • 1 pound breakfast sausage
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • pinch of pepper
  • non-stick cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

In a skillet, brown sausage and onion. Drain grease. Sprinkle sausage mixture into a muffin tin that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

Separately, whisk together eggs, milk and pepper. Pour egg mixture evenly on top of sausage mixture in the muffin tin.

Bake for 23 minutes.


Spinach, Mushroom and Feta Egg “Muffins”

  • 12 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 8 ounces white mushrooms, coarsely chopped
  • 2 handfuls chopped fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese
  • salt and pepper
  • non-stick cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Saute onion and mushrooms together until mushrooms are browned and have released their moisture. Add spinach and cook until wilted. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Let cool.

Separately, whisk together eggs and milk with a little salt and pepper. Add spinach mixture and feta cheese.

Evenly distribute egg mixture into a muffin tin that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

Bake for 23 minutes.


Happy cooking,
Laura

Leave a Reply

