Mexican Chicken Soup

When I was a teenager, I worked in a Mexican restaurant for 2+ years and lived off of their Mexican Chicken Soup. One day, I happened upon Ina Garten’s recipe for Mexican Chicken Soup and noticed that it looked similar to my beloved Mexican restaurant’s soup. I was right! It tastes almost exactly like the soup I loved, and now I can make it any time I want!

I did change 1 thing — I chose not to use crispy tortilla strips in my soup. I think the soup stands well without them, but that’s my personal opinion.

So, to make this soup, I baked 4 chicken breasts that I seasoned with salt and pepper for 30 minutes on 350º. I also prepared some white rice according to the package instructions.

While that’s working, I sauteed my mirepoix (which is a fancy way of saying chopped carrots, celery, and onions).

Mexican Chicken Soup veg

Next I added garlic and cook for 30 seconds, then add chicken stock, tomatoes with puree, cumin, coriander, and 1 tablespoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of pepper, the fresh cilantro, zucchini and prepared rice.

Bring soup to boil, then lower heat to simmer for 25 minutes. Add shredded chicken and season to taste. Top with avocado.

Mexican Chicken Soup

Mexican Chicken Soup

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 cup chopped onion (2 onions)
  • 1 cup chopped celery (2 stalks)
  • 2 cup chopped carrots (4 carrots
  • 4 large cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 small zucchini, halved and sliced
  • 2 ½ quarts chicken stock
  • 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes in puree, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 cup prepared rice
  • Fresh cilantro
  • 1 avocado

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Salt and pepper chicken and place on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for about 30 minutes. When chicken is cool enough to handle, shred the meat.

Meanwhile, heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil in a large pot. Add onions, celery, and carrots, and cook over medium-low heat until onions start to brown. Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds, then add chicken stock, tomatoes with puree, cumin, coriander, and 1 tablespoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of pepper, the fresh cilantro, zucchini and prepared rice.

 

Bring soup to boil, then lower heat to simmer for 25 minutes. Add shredded chicken and season to taste. Top with avocado.

Recipe adapted from The Barefoot Contessa.


Happy cooking,
Laura

Leave a Reply

