Grilled Chicken Skewers with Spicy Tahini Sauce

Pinterest is the saving grace for a girl like me, whose husband has dietary restrictions. My husband, David, can’t eat foods containing gluten OR dairy. So what’s left? Meat, veggies, fruit.. Seems boring, right? That’s where you’re wrong! There’s all sorts of ways I creep past David’s restrictions, like substituting yogurt for mayonnaise (or dairy-free yogurt, of course), and making sure our meals are full of flavors so that we don’t miss the dairy or gluten products.

These Grilled Chicken Skewers are a great example of a Pinterest find that lead me to these fantastic chicken bites that are so full of flavor, it’s almost ridiculous. And, as if that wasn’t enough, this particular Pinterest find also included a dipping sauce! I did change a couple of things from the original post to suit my family’s taste and needs, and it turned out amazingly!

I started off by cutting 1 pound of chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces and placed them into a bowl. I drizzled about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, added in the garlic, lemon juice and zest, salt, pepper, oregano, cumin, coriander, and the paprika, then I tossed all of the seasonings/spices very well to coat the chicken. Once that was done, I used put my chicken on bamboo skewers in equal amounts to promote even cooking. Let the chicken marinate in the seasonings for at least 20 minutes.

Chicken kabobs

Next, I heated  my cast iron stove top grill pan on medium-high heat and drizzled a little oil on it. Then I cooked my chicken for about 6-8 minutes, turning them for even cooking. Once the chicken is cooked through, take them off and let them rest.

While my chicken rested, I made my sauce using mayonnaise, garlic, tahini, sriracha, salt, pepper, and lemon juice. I served my chicken and sauce along side some Quinoa Tabbouleh.

chicken kabobs with quinoa tabouleh

Grilled Chicken Skewers

• 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts (about 2 large breasts), cubed into bite-size pieces
• Olive oil
• 2 cloves garlic, pressed through garlic press
• Zest of 1 lemon (about 1 tablespoon)
• 1 tablespoon lemon juice
• 1 teaspoon salt
• Pinch or two black pepper
• ½ teaspoon dried oregano
• ½ teaspoon ground cumin
• ¼ teaspoon coriander
• ¼ teaspoon paprika
• Spicy Tahini Sauce (recipe below)

Place the cubed chicken into a medium-size bowl, and drizzle in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil; add in the garlic, plus the remainder of the ingredients up to and including the paprika, and using your hands, toss all of the seasonings/spices very well to coat the chicken.

Using bamboo skewers, skewer the chicken so that there is equal portions of meat on each skewer, and allow the chicken to marinate for about 20 minutes, or even overnight, if making ahead.

When ready to grill, place a grill pan over medium-high heat, and drizzle on a little oil; once the oil gets hot, place the chicken skewers into the pan, and cook them for about 6-8 minutes, turning them occasionally so that they get a bit charred on all sides, or until cooked through; allow them to rest, lightly covered with foil, for about 5-10 minutes; then, remove the chicken cubes from the skewers and set aside.

Spicy Tahini Sauce

• 1 cup mayonnaise
• 3 cloves garlic, pressed through garlic press
• 1 tablespoon tahini
• 2-3 teaspoons sriracha
• 1 teaspoon salt
• Pinch black pepper
• ½ teaspoon lemon juice

Add all ingredients to a medium-size bowl, and whisk together until completely smooth and creamy; use immediately, or keep in the fridge, covered.

Recipe adapted from..



Happy cooking,
Laura

Leave a comment