Hawaiian Chicken

One of my husband’s favorite dishes his mom makes is Hawaiian meatballs, but I decided one day to try making something a little different. Pinterest lead me to a recipe for Hawaiian Chicken, which sounded fantastic and possibly like less work. I’ll be honest, rolling meatballs isn’t my idea of a good time, getting my hands all messy.

End result: Hawaiian Chicken is husband approved, 4-year-old approved, and because I didn’t have to roll out meatballs, I approve too! I love the sticky, sweet and tangy combination of pineapple juice and brown sugar in combination with bell peppers to cut the sweetness. It’s perfection!

To start, I preheated my oven to 375ºF. Then I seasoned my chicken breasts with salt and pepper. I browned my chicken breasts on both sides in a cast iron skillet in some olive oil over medium-high heat. Next, I added my bell peppers to the skillet and cooked until until they began to soften.

hawaiian-chicken-ingredients

hawaiian-chicken-sautee

In a measuring cup, I combined ¼ cup of pineapple juice from the can, soy sauce, sesame oil, ginger, paprika, and brown sugar. Then I poured the sauce in the pan, and added the pineapple.

hawaiian-chicken-pineapple

Finally, I covered the pan, and transferred to the oven to bake for 10-15 minutes or until the chicken was cooked through (165º internally). My cast iron skillet doesn’t have a lid, so I improvised and covered my skillet with a large baking sheet.

hawaiian-chicken

Hawaiian Chicken

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • ½ red pepper, sliced
  • ½ yellow pepper, sliced
  • 10 oz. can diced pineapple in juice
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • ½ tablespoon sesame oil
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar

Preheat your oven to 375ºF. Season both sides of the chicken with a little salt and pepper.

In a large oven-safe skillet, heat one tablespoon of olive oil over medium-high heat and brown both sides of the chicken breasts.

Add in the peppers and saute for a few minutes or until the peppers begin to brown.

In a bowl, mix together ¼ cup of pineapple juice from the can, soy sauce, sesame oil, ginger, paprika, and brown sugar.

Pour the sauce in the pan, add the pineapple, cover, and transfer to the oven and bake for 10 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Recipe Credit


Happy cooking,
Laura

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jasmine S. says:

    Nice!! A great and flavorful way to prepare chicken breast – I bet the pineapple gave off a great sweet flavor!

    Like

    1. mrsdjmj says:

      It was wonderfully sweet! The brown sugar mixed with the pineapple was sweet, and the bell peppers cut that sweetness in the best way possible. I hope you try this recipe!

      Like

  2. Sandy Abernethy says:

    You’re so good! You have a talent for words as well as for cooking! I’m SO proud of you! XOXO, Aunt Sandy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

