Halloween Egg in a Basket

Happy Halloween! In my house, there is no wrong time for Breakfast. After my daughter’s tumbling class last week, I wanted a quick dinner to prepare, but I also wanted it to be fun for her to eat. I thought of Egg in a Basket (aka Egg in a Hole). With Halloween just around the corner, I thought it’d be super cute and fun to make my Egg in a Basket in the shape of a Pumpkin!

I have small cookie cutter that is the perfect size for sliced bread.

egg-in-a-basket-cookie-cutter

egg-in-a-basket-cookie-cutter-pumpkin

I get my pan on the stove and heat it over medium heat. To the pan I add about 1 tablespoon of dairy-free butter (my husband has dairy and gluten allergies, so I make his with gluten-free bread, too). Once the butter is melted, I place the bread slice in the pan, crack an egg and pour the egg into the hole in the bread. I also take this opportunity to season my egg with salt and pepper.

egg-in-a-basket-cookie-cutter-raw

After my egg cooks for a minute or two, I carefully lift my toast with a spatula with one hand, adding another bit of butter to the pan with my alternate hand. Then I flip my toast and try not to let the uncooked egg spill out of the uncooked side of the toast.

egg-in-a-basket-cooking

I cook my egg for another minute or two (depending on if I want runny yolk or not). Once I feel like my egg is cooked right and my bread is nicely toasted, I remove my Egg in a Basket from the pan.

But what about the bread that we punched out of the middle? I use it. I add more butter to the pan and toast up my little bread pumpkins.

egg-in-a-basket-toast

Serve this fun and festive breakfast with bacon, sausage, fruit… whatever you like!

Halloween Egg in a Basket (for 1 serving)

  • 1 slice of bread
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons of butter

Cut hole out of the bread slice using a cookie cutter in the shape of your choice. I used a pumpkin, but ghosts or bats would be cute too.

Melt butter in a pan over medium heat, and add the bread with the hole in it to the pan. Crack an egg into a small bowl and pour into the bread hole. Cook for 1-2 minutes. When you go to flip the toast, add a little more butter to the pan so the egg doesn’t stick. Cook the toast for another minute or two and remove from pan. Next, toast up the bread that was punch out of the bread slice. Serve with your favorite breakfast side dishes!


Happy haunting,
Laura

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    What a great idea, I know Holly loved that!

    Like

    1. mrsdjmj says:

      She is a fan of “pumpkin toast” lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

