Amish Style GF/DF Baked Apple Raisin Oatmeal

Good morning! It’s getting cooler outside (finally!) and I like to send my family off to work and school with a nice, warm breakfast in their bellies. Sometimes, there’s nothing more warming and comforting in the morning than a nice bowl of warm oatmeal, especially when it’s flavored with cinnamon, apples, and raisins.

It’s Fall, my absolute favorite time of year. I love the colors of the changing leaves, trips to local apple orchards and pumpkin patches, Halloween movies and TV specials… I could go on and on about what all I love about Fall. Recently, my family and I went to an apple orchard and brought home 2 pecks of apples. I had to stop and think to myself, “what am I supposed to do with ALL these apples?” One answer I came up with was making a huge batch of Amish Style Baked Apple Raisin Oatmeal.

I love this recipe because it yields enough food to make an entire week’s worth of breakfast for my hungry husband and daughter before they head out to work and school. What about me, you may ask? I’m almost ashamed to say that oatmeal isn’t really my jam, but this recipe is almost enough to convert me! I digress… I quickly and easily whip up a batch of this Oatmeal on Sunday evenings while my husband watches Football, and it really does last the whole week.

To make this dish, I preheat my oven to 325ΒΊF and I spray my baking dish with non-stick cooking spray. Then I mix together my dry ingredients in a large bowl: oats, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and brown sugar.

apple-oatmeal-dry

Separately, I mix together my wet ingredients: dairy-free milk (because my husband has a dairy allergy), eggs, vanilla extract, and melted butter. I choose Blue Bonnet Lactose Free Butter as my dairy-free butter option. Fleischmann’s is a great choice, too, but it costs more.

k2-_e80a993a-6e0d-4eda-b560-58496ec49588.v1

apple-oatmeal-wet-ingredients

At this point, I combine my wet and dry ingredients. It’s going to be quite loose. Remember, the oats will soak up all of that delicious liquid.

apple-oatmeal-in-bowl

Next, I peel, core, and dice 2-3 large apples. I was able to score some Pink Lady apples from the apple orchard we visited and they were delicious in this recipe. I spread out the apples in my prepared baking dish, and I sprinkle 2 big handfuls of raisins over the apples.

apple-oatmeal-apples-and-raisins

Finally, I simply pour my oatmeal mixture over the top of my fruit and spread it out evenly. I also sprinkle some extra brown sugar over the top because my husband likes his oatmeal nice and sweet.

apple-oatmeal-prebake

This recipe will bake for about 35-45 minutes. I check mine at 35 minutes and I give it a little shake to see if the center is solid or if it still jiggles. If it’s solid, it’s done!

Amish Style Baked Apple Raisin Oatmeal

  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar (more to taste if you like things a bit sweeter)
  • 2 1/2 cups dairy-free milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons butter or coconut oil, melted
  • 2-3 large tart, sweet apples (like Honey Crisp or Gala), peeled, cored and diced
  • 2 handfuls of raisins

Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking dish with nonstick cooking spray and set aside. Preheat the oven to 325ΒΊF (don’t preheat the oven if making ahead of time and refrigerating overnight).

In a large bowl, whisk together the oats, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and brown sugar.

In a large liquid measuring cup or medium bowl, whisk together the dairy-free milk, eggs, and vanilla.

Pour this mixture over the dry ingredients and add the melted butter or coconut oil. Stir or whisk to combine.

Arrange the diced apples and raisins evenly over the bottom of the baking dish and pour the oatmeal mixture over the top. I like to sprinkle a bit more brown sugar over the top. You can cover and refrigerate overnight at this point or bake right away (uncover before baking the next morning).

Bake for 35-45 minutes until the top is golden and the mixture is setup and not super jiggly.

Recipe adapted from…


Happy cooking,
Laura

2 Comments Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    I would have a hard time leaving this alone…I’d eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner…LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mrsdjmj says:

      It works so well feeding David and Holly Mon-Fri before school and work. 45 seconds in the microwave and *Presto*

      Like

Leave a Reply

