Halloween GF Turkey Meatloaf Hand

Happy Halloween! In this week leading up to Halloween, I have decided to make Halloween-themed dinners that taste delicious and also make my 4-year-old daughter smile. She said it looked like a Zombie hand!

Tonight’s dinner is a Halloween Turkey Meatloaf Hand. Simply put, it’s Turkey Meatloaf that I shaped into a hand. The sweet tomato glaze that goes on top looks like “blood” on this hand, giving it a super spooky look for Halloween. I also added slivered almonds as “finger nails” for an added effect.

The recipe for Turkey Meatloaf was given to me by my mother-in-law. My husband, David, loves when I prepare dinners that remind him of his childhood. Putting a Halloween spin on it was so much fun!

First,I preheat the oven to 350ΒΊF, then I combine 2 pounds of ground turkey with 2 eggs, 1 medium onion that I chopped, salt, pepper, and Gluten-Free breadcrumbs (David has a gluten allergy). I choose Ian’s Gluten Free Breadcrumbs all the time. They’re perfect!

Next, in a separate bowl, I combine an 8-ounce can of tomato sauce with 1 teaspoon of yellow mustard and 1/4 cup of loosely-packed brown sugar. I add a little less than half of this mixture to the turkey mixture, and the rest of it will be the glaze that tops the meatloaf.

turkey-meatloaf-sauce

turkey-meatloaf-mix

On a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil, I would typically dump all of the meat mixture out and form it into a meatloaf shape, but for Halloween, I molded it into a hand.

turkey-meatloaf-pre-glaze

Next, I topped my meatloaf with the reserved tomato sauce mixture. It closely resembles “blood,” which is perfect for this Halloween-themed dinner!

turkey-meatloaf-bloody

Finally, I popped my meatloaf hand into the oven and baked it for 45 minutes. You should always use a thermometer when cooking with poultry to make sure it reaches a safe eating temperature of 165ΒΊF.

turkey-meatloaf-finished

As lean as turkey is, this meatloaf still released a bit of grease onto the pan, so I simply scrape it all away with a spoon and discard it.

Last, I took some slivered almonds to make into “fingernails” and dinner was ready!

I served my dinner with some rice and green beans and I gave myself 2 of the meatloaf “fingers”.

turkey-meatloaf-plated

Halloween Turkey Meatloaf Hand

  • 2 pounds ground turkey
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup gluten free bread crumbs
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 ounce can of tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1 teaspoon mustard

Mix tomato sauce, brown sugar, and mustard. Separately, mix turkey, onion, eggs, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, and a little less than half of the tomato mixture. Put meatloaf on a baking sheet (and shape into a hand) and spread second half of tomato mixture on top. Bake at 350ΒΊ for 45 min.


Happy haunting,
Laura

Leave a Reply

