The BEST Dairy-Free/Gluten-Free Sweet Potato Casserole

This is the BEST sweet potato casserole in the universe. It is the recipe I grew up eating around the Holidays and it’s still a family favorite. I am requested/required to bring this to every Thanksgiving and Christmas gathering my family attends each year. It’s so good that I even prepare an entire extra sweet potato casserole for my brother as a Christmas gift every year to keep all to himself. There are NEVER leftovers of this stuff.

I made this for Thanksgiving 3 times this year, and I can’t believe that I didn’t remember to take a picture of the casserole after it was done baking! In my haste, rushing out the door to get to my family gatherings on time, it totally slipped my mind! Sorry folks, but I can tell you that the topping becomes a beautiful crunchy crust on top of luxurious, silky sweet potatoes.

It’s my mom’s recipe, but I have had to start using dairy-free butter for my lactose- and gluten-intolerant husband, David, as well as gluten-free flour in the topping so he doesn’t miss out.

Sweet and satisfying, this sweet potato casserole is the perfect side dish to any Holiday pot-luck.

To make this famous Sweet Potato Casserole, I preheat my oven to 350ºF and I butter a casserole dish with dairy-free butter.

sweet-potato-casserole-buttered-dish

Then I peel and cube 2-3 sweet potatoes, place in a large pot and cover with water. Boil sweet potato until fork-tender. Drain the water out and mash the sweet potatoes, and measure out 3 cups of sweet potato and place in a mixing bowl. Let the sweet potatoes cool slightly. (If you add the eggs in the next step while the potatoes are too warm, the eggs will scramble.. not good!)

sweet-potato-casserole-preboil

Next I mix the sweet potatoes with sugar, vanilla, eggs, and dairy-free butter and pour into my buttered casserole dish.

For the topping, I combine brown sugar with gluten-free flour, pecans and dairy-free butter. I mix them together with two forks (also known as “cutting” the DF butter into the sugar and GF flour), slightly pressing the sugar into the DF butter, until the DF butter is the size of peas. You don’t want to overmix the DF butter with the sugar or it will become a gluey paste consistency. You want it to be a crumble.

sweet-potato-casserole-ingredients-topping

I sprinkle my topping over my sweet potatoes, covering the entire top evenly.

sweet-potato-casserole-prebake

Bake for 30 minutes on 350ºF. The topping becomes a lovely crust.

**Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of the final product last time, but I’ll update this around Christmas when I make Sweet Potato Casserole again.

Dairy-Free/Gluten-Free Sweet Potato Casserole

CASSEROLE:

  • 3 cups mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1 cup sugar (or slightly less, if desired)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup melted dairy-free butter

TOPPING:

  • ½ cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • ½ cup chopped pecans
  • 3 tablespoon dairy-free butter

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Butter a casserole dish and set aside.

Peel and cube 2-3 sweet potatoes, place in a large pot and cover with water. Boil sweet potato until fork-tender. Drain the water out and mash the sweet potatoes, and measure out 3 cups of sweet potato and place in a mixing bowl. Let the sweet potatoes cool slightly.

Mix sweet potatoes, sugar, eggs, vanilla and dairy free butter. Pour into the buttered casserole dish.

Mix all topping ingredients together with a fork until just combined  (butter should be the size of peas). Don’t over work the butter or it will become a paste. Sprinkle crumbs on top of casserole.

Bake at 350ºF for 30 min.


Happy cooking,
Laura

Leave a Reply

