Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free White Chicken Chili for the Crock Pot

Snow is in the weather forecast for the first time this year, and I know the perfect warm and cozy dinner to make for my family: White Chicken Chili. I love this recipe because it’s all done in the crock pot, giving me more time to spend staying cozy on the couch with my coffee.

This is a great Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free recipe that uses cornstarch and coconut milk to make the chili thick and creamy. It’s not spicy, so it’s perfect for my 4-year-old daughter’s taste.

To make this dish, I start out with 3 cans of Great Northern Beans that I drain and rinse of all the salty liquid that comes in the can. I like to control the amount of salt in my food.

white-chicken-chili-beans

Next I add chopped onion, garlic and canned green chilies.

white-chicken-chili-onion-and-garlic

I couldn’t find canned chilies in my grocery store that were already diced, so I bought canned whole chilies and diced them myself. I had to take a picture of the chilies because they’re just so pretty!

white-chicken-chili-chiles

Next, I make my spice mixture of Cumin, Chili Powder, White Pepper and Salt, and I sprinkle it on my beans, onion, garlic and chilies.

And of course, I can’t forget the chicken, chicken broth and coconut milk!

I cook this on high for about 5 hours in the crock pot, then I take the chicken out and shred it with 2 forks.

white-chicken-chili-chicken-thighs-shred

And I also make a slurry of cornstarch and water that thickens the broth.  I add the slurry and the chicken to the crock pot allow it to cook for another 30 minutes.

white-chicken-chili-cooked

That’s it! Just top with Cilantro (and if you can have dairy, I highly recommend Sour Cream)!

white-chicken-chili

Dairy Free White Chicken Chili

  • 2.5 lbs Boneless, Skinless Chicken Thighs
  • 3 cans Great Northern Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 8 oz Cans Diced Green Chilies
  • 1 large Yellow Onion, diced
  • 1 Tablespoon Garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoon Cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Chili Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon White Pepper
  • 2 Teaspoons salt
  • 2 Cups Chicken Broth
  • 1 Cup Coconut Milk
  • 1/4 Cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 Cup Water
  • 1/3 Cup Cilantro, chopped

Place the chicken thighs, beans, chilies, onion, garlic, cumin, chili powder, pepper, salt, chicken broth, and coconut milk in a crock pot. Cook on high for 5 hours, or until chicken is very tender.

 

Remove the chicken and place in a bowl. Lightly shred with a fork.

 

Place the corn starch in a small bowl and slowly whisk in the 1/2 cup of water to make a smooth, lump-free mixture. Stir the mixture into the chili in the crock pot.

 

Add the chicken back into the chili and stir to distribute. Let cook for another 30 minutes. Soup should thicken up.

Top with cilantro.

Recipe Credit


Happy cooking,
Laura

2 Comments Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    I’m gonna make this over the weekend!!!

    Like

    1. mrsdjmj says:

      We had it tonight 😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

