Trisha Yearwood’s Orange Chocolate Cake

 

The weather outside is frightful, but it isn’t like the cute song about letting it snow.. No.. Hurricane Irma (or Tropical Storm Irma as it is now) is blowing across the South. With that said, my thoughts and prayers are with the people who have been effected by this storm.

Where I live, so far, is gray and rainy, but not severe YET. That is supposed to happen later on today, but school was cancelled for my daughter and my husband was fortunate enough to get out of work early enough to beat the storm to our area. We’re expecting some pretty bad wind, rain, and power outages — so I figure I’ll blog before the power goes out!

A few months back, I was watching Food Network and Trisha’s Southern Kitchen was on. Trisha was making an Orange Chocolate Cake that looked INCREDIBLE!!! I love chocolate, I love orange, and I love…. Mayonnaise? Yes Ma’am! Think about it, what is mayonnaise made of? Eggs and oil. What is commonly used in cake batter? You guessed it — eggs and oil. In combination with orange and chocolate, you’ll never know that there is Mayo in your cake, but you will notice just how moist the cake is.

I decided to make the cake and give it as a gift to my then expectant cousin (hey Tiffanie!), so I didn’t use my typical Gluten-Free or Dairy-Free ingredients. I’d be willing to bet that this recipe would work perfectly with Gluten-Free All Purpose flour and Dairy-Free butter. I get asked frequently if Mayonnaise is okay for David, my husband, to eat because he’s dairy-free and mayo contains egg. Short answer, yes, it is okay. Eggs don’t contain lactose, which is David’s sensitivity.

To make this cake, I prepared a bundt pan by greasing it with softened butter and then dusting it with cocoa powder. This is pretty cool because most recipes use flour to dust a cake pan, but that would leave a chocolate cake with white flour residue.. Not cute. The cocoa powder keeps this cake nice and brown.

Orange Chocolate Cake greased pan

I zested enough fresh oranges to get 2 tablespoons of zest, then I juiced about 7 oranges to get 2 cups of orange juice, plus 2 tablespoons of extra orange juice for my glaze.

Orange Chocolate Cake orange juice

Next, I prepared my cake batter, starting by combining dry ingredients first: flour, cocoa, baking soda, sugar, salt, and cinnamon. Then I combined my wet ingredients in a separate bowl: orange juice, mayonnaise, balsamic vinegar, and vanilla extract. I added the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mixed them together for a minute or two, and then I folded in the orange zest.

I baked my cake for 45 minutes on 350ºF and tested it with a toothpick (it came out clean), then I cooled it completely on a cooling rack.

While the cake cooled, I made my glaze. I combined the confectioner’s sugar with the cocoa powder, and then slowly added orange juice, 1 tablespoon at a time, until it was the right consistency. You just want to be able to drizzle it nicely over the cake.

Orange Chocolate Cake finished

Please excuse my aluminum foil and cake traveler presentation.. I had to drive it 5 minutes down the street to my cousin who, at the time, was expecting. The baby has since been born, and she is totally adorable! The first time I met her, she took a nice, long nap on my chest, thus bonding us for life. I think it’s because she knows I made this cake for her. Love you TMA!

 

Trisha Yearwood’s Orange Chocolate Cake

For the cake:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder 
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour 
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar 
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda 
  • 1 teaspoon salt 
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 
  • 2 cups freshly squeezed orange juice, plus 2 tablespoons finely grated zest
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise 
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 

For the glaze:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice 

Preheat the oven to 350º F. Mix together the softened butter and 1 tablespoon of the cocoa to make a thick paste. Use this paste to paint the inside of the Bundt pan. Set aside.

In an electric mixer, combine the flour, granulated sugar, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and remaining 1/2 cup cocoa and mix until blended. Add the orange juice, mayonnaise, vinegar and vanilla and mix until just combined, 1 to 2 minutes. Fold in the orange zest. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean, 45 minutes. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, and then turn out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

Mix the confectioners’ sugar and cocoa together. Whisk in the orange juice, 1 tablespoon at a time, until it reaches a good consistency to drizzle. Drizzle the glaze over the cake.

Recipe Credit


Happy cooking,
Laura

2 Comments Add yours

  1. brendamj says:

    That looks mouth watering good! Maybe make a gluten free one sometime soon???

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

